Community
Wiki Posts
Search

MTX 5

Search this Thread

Old 07-30-2012, 06:11 PM
Tech Regular

Default Spur breaking

I have noticed that once the pinions seem worn, they will strip gears. Also the 2 speed shoe has to be tight or needs a hard spring in the gearbox. Like how X-ray offer hard 2speed shoe springs. I really feel its the 2 speed shoe not disengaging. Could be the material of the shoe, or springs,. Right now I'm using the X-ray 2 speed shoe. But this issue is really disheartening .
Old 07-30-2012, 11:58 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by afm
Any news on Mugen adressing the spur breaking issue officially? I read somewhere that for the European championship they would release an improved version off gearbox/clutch/spurs.

I´ve tried every tip, building process, recomendation, et.etc. and can't have a running stream larger than 15 minutes before spurs go.....BTW i'm no novice in this hobby and in my 12 years in it, i've had all the major brands of cars, and never seen something like this..

AFM
for now there is nothing official.
I will be with mtx5 to European and if there will be new, even unofficial, will write.
as regards the problem ..... when the 2 things together (clutch and linkage) have, for months now, so that it no longer the problem.

hello

maver
Old 07-31-2012, 01:49 AM
Tech Fanatic

after baileys 2 gears final i had a look at car today and there is a lot of play in between gear /pinion i don't remember if i checked it before final it has eather worn or engine has moved on we have not had this much drama since it was new we thought we had a handell on this
greg
Old 07-31-2012, 02:11 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

There has been one of many working theorys, that the engine mounts move either during a shunt, or perhaps from riding curbs etc, or maybe just general driving (force of gears under load pushing them apart perhaps).