Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Serpent 720

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2006, 01:07 AM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by need-4-speed
First off - let me say that I really like my 720 but......
Has anyone had problems with the CVDs breaking easily? If I just tap a wall the CVD is toast. I know, I know just stay off the walls and problem solved, right? However, I have never seen repeated failures like this, EVER. I have gone through 5 CVDs (left and right combined) with less than 1 hour of track time.
Just to clear the air, I am not a nubie. I have been racing at this particular track for 4 years. I also run the 960 which I'm quite good at if I may. I've used quite a few different cars ranging from Mugen to AE to Kyosho to Xray. None of them has broken a CVD. Hell, there are rookie drivers out there banging up the boards and they keep on going. I happen to be the only Serpent guy out there and also the only one with these failures. It's kinda of a bummer. I was just at the track Sunday (went thru 2 CVDs). Since my car was broken I was watching a guy driving a RRR. He hit the walls countless times and nothing happened. Each time he hit with the front of the car I wispered under my breath, "That would have been a CVD".(referring to myself, of course)
Anyway, I just wanted to see if anyone has had this happen...

Same thing here... not that i've done 5 of them :P
Are the CVD's all black or is the part that's inside the bearing 'silver/metal'.. If it's black i think you have the newer CVD's. Those are made somewhere else and i think they have an issue then...

Anybody else have problems with the new CVD's?
Old 11-08-2006, 04:47 AM
Tech Elite

I don't use CVDs in my 720 mostly. At the Euros I stuck in my 710's CVDs and despite a lot of crashes (just ask Cyclops, or even better, get Ray Wood's DVD ) and you'll see. I did not break one CVD but then again these were the original Serpent ones from the 710 era.
Old 11-08-2006, 07:25 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)