OUTPUT BATTERY CONNECT ERROR

 

Old 08-14-2009, 05:42 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
bc24fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default OUTPUT BATTERY CONNECT ERROR

For one of my maxamps 6500mah 7.4v lipos I'm getting the error "OUTPUT BATTERY CONNECT ERROR". The other charges fine. I'm using DUO3 to charge. I haven't used the battery yet and am wondering if it's defective?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
bc24fl is offline  
Old 08-14-2009, 10:41 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Coral gables, Florida
Posts: 1,265
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

I am having a simular problem. Same charger but differnt battery.
infanterene is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 07:40 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 1,061
Default

If your using Deans plugs Clean the inside of the plugs. Scrape them out with a Number 11 X-acto blade or a small thin screw driver. Solder flux can and does seep through from the back side when we install them. We try to clean the plugs but sometimes the remaining flux hasn't cured at that point and dries later. It forms a film on the contacts that is like wax. It will not allow for contact and you may get the error. We check all packs after they are built on a charger in house so chances of you getting a defective battery are very slim.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 08-17-2009, 08:01 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
bc24fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JAM MaxAmps View Post
If your using Deans plugs Clean the inside of the plugs. Scrape them out with a Number 11 X-acto blade or a small thin screw driver. Solder flux can and does seep through from the back side when we install them. We try to clean the plugs but sometimes the remaining flux hasn't cured at that point and dries later. It forms a film on the contacts that is like wax. It will not allow for contact and you may get the error. We check all packs after they are built on a charger in house so chances of you getting a defective battery are very slim.

Jason
I'll try that tonight... thanks!!
bc24fl is offline  
Old 08-18-2009, 09:17 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
bc24fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JAM MaxAmps View Post
If your using Deans plugs Clean the inside of the plugs. Scrape them out with a Number 11 X-acto blade or a small thin screw driver. Solder flux can and does seep through from the back side when we install them. We try to clean the plugs but sometimes the remaining flux hasn't cured at that point and dries later. It forms a film on the contacts that is like wax. It will not allow for contact and you may get the error. We check all packs after they are built on a charger in house so chances of you getting a defective battery are very slim.

Jason
Tried all that you recommended but still did not work?
bc24fl is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 05:18 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 1,061
Default

Ok two more thing to check. Take a volt meter to the main lead on the pack and check the voltage. Also make sure your plug into the active channel on the charger. So in other words make sure your on the channel your plugged into.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 05:39 AM
  #7  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
bc24fl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JAM MaxAmps View Post
Ok two more thing to check. Take a volt meter to the main lead on the pack and check the voltage. Also make sure your plug into the active channel on the charger. So in other words make sure your on the channel your plugged into.

Jason
I don't have a volt meter. Can anyone recommend a cheap one I get buy?
bc24fl is offline  
Old 08-19-2009, 06:42 AM
  #8  
Tech Master
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 1,061
Default

Craftsman sells one for about 25 bucks. You should have one anyways it's a handy tool when dealing with electrics.

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 08-20-2009, 12:36 PM
  #9  
AMZ
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
AMZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 426
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I dont know that this will help but:

I had a similar problem , while balance charging, the balance conector on the charger had become a little loose.
A 'batt. voltage error' message was displayed, so , I tried again , putting finger pressure on the charger side balance tap. As soon as I released finger pressure , I go the error.

A small strip of thin lexan wedged between the balance tap and the balance tap case fixed it.
AMZ is offline  
Old 08-24-2009, 10:25 AM
  #10  
Tech Master
 
JAM MaxAmps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Nine Mile Falls, WA
Posts: 1,061
Default

bc24fl what were you able to figure out??

Jason
JAM MaxAmps is offline  
Old 10-18-2009, 01:39 PM
  #11  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1
Default

I'll think try that first and see if it works .
Mulky1 is offline  
Old 12-02-2009, 09:50 AM
  #12  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I had a battery from another manufacturer doing the same thing. It had one of those cheap knockoff looking Deans plugs and everything looked fine. I put a true Deans plug on it and haven't had an issue since.

Seems the Hyperion is sensitive to the connection compared to other brands of chargers, as I could charge this one on another top brand charger without issues.

Actually a good thing in my opinion, but it reiterates that you should check your plugs anytime you get this type of error.
Stetler17 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service