R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-16-2006, 09:38 PM   #1
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Does This Exist?

Ok I want to know if there is a switch which can be plugged into say a 3rd channel on a reciver, and then be turned on and off using the 3rd channel. And iam not talking about using a servo, like something that directly plugs into a channel.
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2006, 10:50 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
easy e's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Shreveport, LA
Posts: 1,138
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

once you turn off then there is no power to the receiver >
easy e is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 12:00 AM   #3
Tech Master
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

There are both mechanical and electrical switches that can plug into the receiver.
XrayFK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 01:01 AM   #4
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,465
Default

Where do you want to use it for? Most 3rd channels are used for additional functions like switching lights on & off on trucks or in boatracing to a 3rd needle to adjust the fuel/air mixture.
__________________
U5 Formulaboat 1/8 hydroplane - MHZ138 AQUAMANIA - Axial Exo Terra - Tamiya Avante - LC Racing EMB1 - Atomic AMZ 4WD Touring car
MrUnlimited is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 01:58 AM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Marc_05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Tamiya =P
Posts: 561
Trader Rating: 9 (85%+)
Default

Could use a 3rd channel to hook a fan on so you can turn it on and off by the radio, or slow or speed up the fan?
Marc_05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 09:44 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

easy e - yes i know, hence when the car is on, the switch would control say an additional power source, like 4 AA's or sumthing

XrayFK - can you maybe post some links to both?

Unlimited - ya all i want to do is turn on some lights on my body from my radio, instead of having to put a switch on the body itself.
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 09:58 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Frank McKinney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: A Yank in England
Posts: 755
Default

It's about time someone came up with a use for the 3rd channel on high-end radios
__________________
Minimal signature to save screen space! Big sigs suX0r
Frank McKinney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 10:01 AM   #8
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

OK so i found this. Anyone have any additional info on this?
http://www.electrifly.com/miscproducts/gpmm2150.html

This isnt an esc is it?
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 07:04 PM   #9
Tech Addict
 
aN4rK1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 586
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Iam trying to find instructions for that thing, anyone know? I tried great planes website already.
aN4rK1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 07:36 PM   #10
Tech Apprentice
 
NoahTheBoa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 79
Send a message via AIM to NoahTheBoa
Default

It looks like its an esc to me either that or it would be running off a seperate battery and motor. It might be what you're looking for, but it looks like an esc to me.
__________________
RC10T4
RC10TC4
Losi XXX-S
NoahTheBoa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 08:07 PM   #11
Tech Elite
 
rough512's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 3,454
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

you can try gutting an old servo. you need only the circuit board. cut-off the motor and substitute your lights. You might have a little bitty bit of a problem with polarized lights like LEDs, but a little radio adjustment should fix your problem.

You can also power a fan using the circuit board.
rough512 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BMT do they Exist? Raw40 Nitro On-Road 77 06-30-2014 01:01 PM
Does this exist? offroadford4x4 Electric On-Road 11 09-25-2004 06:19 PM
Does this car EXIST? dirk Electric On-Road 13 05-29-2003 07:22 PM
does this exist? is it possible? ares Electric Off-Road 5 07-20-2002 05:16 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:30 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net