R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-16-2005, 11:51 AM   #1
Tech Elite
 
rcracenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: WIS
Posts: 3,363
Trader Rating: 52 (96%+)
Default Spektrum systems

My son just bought a spektrum for his KO PROPO Helios radio. Last night at our track another racer who also has a Spektrum system had his car lock on wide open and fly off the track at the end of the race. Some of us were talking about how this isnt supposed to happen when anothe racer said othe modified guys experienced the same thing and ended up putting a capacitor in to store voltage. Apparently the stockers dont have this problem. Only the mods. Has anyone else experienced this problem and what did you find out or do?
__________________
____________________________________________
1 Corinthians 10:31 ...whatever you do, do it all to the glory of God.
S&N Trackside Hobbies
Innovative Hobbies and Raceway
Clark RC race park
rcracenut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 12:41 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have had low voltage before in my 1/8 scale buggy. I never have had a problem. The Spektrums have a failsafe in them that you should set up. For the electrics this really isn't an issue but I wouldn't say it was because of someone else turning on their radio. The first time I have heard of this problem was when I started to read the electric onroad forums again. I haven't heard of anyone using Spektrum, my way at least, having those issues.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 02:07 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
hobbipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: West Palm Beach
Posts: 1,326
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

From what I've read some speed controls (blue ones in particular) they tend to have a weak BEC, 1amp. When you have a hot modified, a digital servo, and a personal transponder all plugged into the spektrum receiver it can experience a voltage loss. This can also happen to 1/12 racers since we run 4.8v with 19t motors.
To help prevent this go to either stormer hobbies, or horizons web sight and pick up some spektrum voltage protection devices. All it really is, is a 4700uf capacitor with a receiver lead soldered on, there like $4 or something.
hobbipro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:17 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

Hi all , please tell me dose ne1 know if there's plans any time soon to release one of these systems for the Ko Esprit 2 ??

I've hear really good things about the spektrum system, but also that it's not yet made for my handset

Thanks

Rod
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 05:46 PM   #5
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merciless
Hi all , please tell me dose ne1 know if there's plans any time soon to release one of these systems for the Ko Esprit 2 ??

I've hear really good things about the spektrum system, but also that it's not yet made for my handset

Thanks

Rod
All depends, if your radio has a replaceble TX module like any of the EX-1 series or Helios transmitters, then the Spektrum module will fit it NOW. But that's the only thing I'm not sure about(not as familiar with the stick transmitters, though I believe that one could be the same as an EX-1 series)...
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:35 PM   #6
Tech Elite
 
ChadCapece's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: CofC
Posts: 3,313
Default

If his car went full speed into a wall, then he didn't setup the failsafe correctly. It should be set to straight steering and full brake, not full throttle.
ChadCapece is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:39 PM   #7
Tech Addict
 
Charles_Howarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 525
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I had a similar problem with my spektrum when running a silver can motor with a personal transponder. It shut off and went crashing into the wall.. Obviously I didn't have my failsafe set correctly which I will change but what is the $4 part from Stormer Hobbies?

Will the part from Stormer correct this problem? Could it be something else with my setup as I am running a very tame engine.

Thanks,

Charley
Charles_Howarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 06:59 PM   #8
Tech Addict
 
Charles_Howarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 525
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

If you use a personal transponder, where do you plug in the voltage unit?

Charley
Charles_Howarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:21 PM   #9
Tech Regular
 
EricO3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to EricO3 Send a message via MSN to EricO3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Merciless
Hi all , please tell me dose ne1 know if there's plans any time soon to release one of these systems for the Ko Esprit 2 ??

I've hear really good things about the spektrum system, but also that it's not yet made for my handset

Thanks

Rod
http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.p...16#post1876316
Post #1411
EricO3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:37 PM   #10
Tech Regular
 
Buck Nasty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: CCDC, LV,NV
Posts: 324
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles_Howarth
If you use a personal transponder, where do you plug in the voltage unit?

Charley
The battery slot.
__________________
I think, therefore I'm single. Buck Nasty
Buck Nasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2005, 08:44 PM   #11
Tech Addict
 
Charles_Howarth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Posts: 525
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Buck Nasty
The battery slot.
Ok.. One of the posts said open channel slots and didn't know if the battery slot would work.

Thanks a lot,

Charley
Charles_Howarth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 01:29 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Merciless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,027
Send a message via ICQ to Merciless
Default

Cheers

I'd seen that info on Spektum's Webby (in the faq). Just wondered if anyone knew more as it also says that it might be produced for the ko esprit series in the future !!

And i thought the message boards might be a good place to ask ........


Thanks

Rod
Merciless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 02:02 AM   #13
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 105
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles_Howarth
Ok.. One of the posts said open channel slots and didn't know if the battery slot would work.

Thanks a lot,

Charley
The power rails are common among all the slots, so yes, it will work.
Goonish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 02:24 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
stefan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 3,273
Send a message via AIM to stefan
Default

Is Spektrum's website down?
stefan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2005, 02:28 AM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 105
Default

It doesn't appear to be down. I can access it just fine.
Goonish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 Spektrum Pro Systems for KO Propo w/ Micro rec Fred Perkins R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 17 07-28-2008 06:48 PM
Losi/Spektrum DSM Radio systems racenut123 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 05-11-2008 09:11 PM
2 SPEKTRUM DX3 RADIO SYSTEMS SweetRacing R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-15-2006 02:36 PM
2 Spektrum DSM Systems for M8/M11 koabich R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 21 04-09-2006 01:08 PM
Spektrum M8 systems dylanj R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 4 04-01-2005 12:10 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net