Wiki Posts
Search

Travelling with R/C Gear to the US

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2002, 07:43 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Travelling with R/C Gear to the US

i'll be flying to the U.S. this friday (Sept 13) and was wondering how difficult it would be to bring in my gear. My port of entry will be New York and since my arrival will be so close to 9/11 memorial day (just a few days after), i am expecting that the security at the airports will be very very tight! so i was wondering if id be hassled if i bring in my gear -- i mean with all the electronics, the batt packs, and a "gun type" controler, will i be faced with some stiffer security checks or maybe even have some gear confiscated (like the batts)??? i may be over reacting here but its my first time to bring my gear with me and i dont know what to expect. Just thought of asking you guys in case any of you have had to travel experience with your stuff to and from the US. any ideas and tips?
Old 09-10-2002, 07:51 PM
R/C Tech Founder

I would definitely contact the airline beforehand and explain to them what you'll be bringing with you, and ask them what kind of potential delays/trouble to expect.
Old 09-10-2002, 09:34 PM
Tech Regular

Pack it all for checked luggage......or.....send it via postal/fed ex/ups before hand.
Old 09-11-2002, 09:37 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Roborat: We left for Bangkok last year with our r/cstuff just right after 9/11 had happend maybe 2 weeks after. It will not be much of a hassle as long as you put your stuff at the right place. Although i think you must prepare a list or inventory of ur stuff and try to put all sharp objects, uncharged-batts & controller in your check-in luggage. You may also handcarry your car if you wish, at least it looks safe enough for everyone seeing its a toy. I dont really know how "code-orange" works in the U.S. hope you enjoy your trip. Then dont forget to shave, it helps.
Old 09-13-2002, 04:55 AM
Tech Champion