R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Travelling with R/C Gear to the US (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/7924-travelling-r-c-gear-us.html)

ROBORAT 09-10-2002 07:43 PM

Travelling with R/C Gear to the US

i'll be flying to the U.S. this friday (Sept 13) and was wondering how difficult it would be to bring in my gear. My port of entry will be New York and since my arrival will be so close to 9/11 memorial day (just a few days after), i am expecting that the security at the airports will be very very tight! so i was wondering if id be hassled if i bring in my gear -- i mean with all the electronics, the batt packs, and a "gun type" controler, will i be faced with some stiffer security checks or maybe even have some gear confiscated (like the batts)??? i may be over reacting here but its my first time to bring my gear with me and i dont know what to expect. Just thought of asking you guys in case any of you have had to travel experience with your stuff to and from the US. any ideas and tips?

futureal 09-10-2002 07:51 PM

I would definitely contact the airline beforehand and explain to them what you'll be bringing with you, and ask them what kind of potential delays/trouble to expect.

acloco 09-10-2002 09:34 PM

Pack it all for checked luggage......or.....send it via postal/fed ex/ups before hand.

Geetoo 09-11-2002 09:37 PM