Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
spintec I.C.C charger >

spintec I.C.C charger

spintec I.C.C charger

Reply

Old 11-05-2006, 10:41 AM
  #871  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 241
Default

I use 42 min. cutoff, and 47 max.. with 6amp charging and 3.5Mv cutoff... works verry good for me, no cells venting with my pack's...
hugovdb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 04:08 PM
  #872  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by hugovdb
I use 42 min. cutoff, and 47 max.. with 6amp charging and 3.5Mv cutoff... works verry good for me, no cells venting with my pack's...

So that's about 116 deg F. cut-off vs 120 deg F. -- With a 3.5 mv cut-off, I'm guessing the cells are hitting the temp cut-off before the voltage cut-off. Are you charging 4 or 6 cells ? Are they IB 4200's ?


You never know -- that cell may have vented on any charger. Just wondering.
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 07:27 PM
  #873  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by L.Fairtrace
Well the temp sensors are taking the temp on the bottom of the cells with the fan slightly blowing on them so im sure the top of the cells(heat rises) will be a few degrees higher.

I'd say the temp difference is more than a few degrees -- one of the cells showed 120 deg. F on my Spintec display and when I checked it with my Carlsen infrared temp gun, it was actually 150 deg F. -- that's a 30 deg. F difference !
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 10:07 PM
  #874  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

this maybe a "dream" thing... but we should be allowed to calibrate our temp sensors.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 12:25 AM
  #875  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 241
Default

I charge 6cell pack, and sometimes 4cell pack's (for the 12th scale). Yes I use it for IB 4200's, shv's and WC cells. They cutoff just about the time they reach 47c.. most off the time just before that, and it cutt's off on Mv.

-Hugo van den Berg
hugovdb is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 06:26 AM
  #876  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,144
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TeamGoodwrench
I just charged the first pack on my new Spintec (ver 1.05b).

I charged a new 4-cell SHV IB 4200 pack using 6.0 Amps, 3 mv, 120 deg F.

Cell #1 vented !

The pack seemed to charge correctly, but I checked the temps while the pack was still in the charger. The Spintec was showing the temp of the cell at 120 deg F. -- I checked the upper surface of the cell with my Carlsen infrared temp gun and the temp gun showed a temp of 150 deg F. (the cells felt warmer than 120 F.).

Why are the temps shown on the Spintec almost 30 deg F. LOWER than when you measure the upper surface of the cell with an IR temp gun ??

Anyone else seeing this ?

Thx.

Read the temp gun instructions. A shinny surface will read incorrect values.
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 06:30 AM
  #877  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,144
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

I charge at 7amps, 125 temp cutoff and 2mv. I have the min temp maxed out what ever that value is. I have not had any cell venting. I think one reason some see cells that vent is the cell is going to vent any how.

Great charger!
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 06:52 AM
  #878  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

No venting cells with the ICC, but at the Overloader nearly every pack is venting a cell (except the new ones).


Rob.
Rob Janssen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 07:15 AM
  #879  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

"Overloader"? (Sorry, is that a place?)
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 07:34 AM
  #880  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Apeldoorn, the Netherlands
Posts: 111
Default

Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
"Overloader"? (Sorry, is that a place?)
The Overloader is the charger of Robitronic
Rob Janssen is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 08:13 AM
  #881  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

i guess the name actually suits what it does...
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 05:05 PM
  #882  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
TeamGoodwrench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Cottage Grove, WI
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just got an e-mail reply back from Eric on the temp difference issue -- he confirmed that the reason the Spintec doesn't give accurate temp readings is because it uses a contact sensor and these don't always make 100% contact and are influenced by the surrounding air. He also confirmed the issue of shiny surfaces with temp guns -- but that makes me also wonder then how to validate the actual cell temps ???

He also suggested a lower temp cut-off with the IB 4200's -- like 113 deg. F. rather than 120 F.

It was great to get a reply back to my questions so quickly.

Thanks Eric !!
TeamGoodwrench is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 09:18 PM
  #883  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

Curious, is there anyway we can find just how much off on "avg" does each cell sit above the tray and how will this affect the temperature reading on the icc? i realize that the outside temp is also different from the temp inside the battery, but just to see if there are any good relationships we can use to get the most of out the icc and batteries.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2006, 09:22 PM
  #884  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,144
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

The voltage cut off is a better way to peak than by temp. Temp is a safety cut off.
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 01:18 AM
  #885  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 181
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default icc

when i use my icc which is updated to the newest software all the manual stuff says the charger can charge at 8 amps but all i can get is about 6-7 out of it with 6 cells at 5.5 with 4 cells? can the unit charge up to 8 amps as it is advertized? or is there restrictions? i have tried to adjust the amps up in all modes even in user mode and they dont go any higher . albie

only other thing i found is with high discharge packs i have to put some charge from my turbo 35gfx in the packs or i get voltage errors ..
speedpro1 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service