Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree26Likes

3 racing new F1

Search this Thread

Old 02-20-2012, 05:23 AM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)

Thanks for the flattering comments. The last time I drove my 180mm tamiya back to back against the fgx the difference in best lap was .4 with the tamiya being faster. This is on medium grip carpet with f1 lap times around 12 seconds. The tamiya i am running is a narrowed f103 so I don't know if a true f104 would be the same.
Old 02-20-2012, 05:40 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)

Originally Posted by MikeR
F104 based cars are king still at TQ. High grip and pan cars are a force here. When the UF1 series heads out doors that's when the FGX will shine.

Although i have zero experience on carpet my FGx is beginning to dominate outdoors, and the looser the track the more it shines. I think with the development that Me,Troy and Mike ( i know your up to something!!) are putting into the FGX it is eventually going to dominate especially when the new front end is finally released. Troy has the upper deck strength figured out, i will be releasing a shim kit that will include some neat little pieces that get the slop in check. Around here the 104's are fast but in a 15min main because tire condition is so critical they tend to fade near the end while my car gets stronger. I do want to ask Mike and Troy to keep in mind that on asphalt we need flex and a pretty good amount of it so whatever chassis design you come up with make sure us asphalt guys can benefit from it. I am back to stock chassis and am actually about to make a lower chassis out of some thinner material for this reason.
Old 02-20-2012, 09:59 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

Yes I agree. My lower chassis is 2.25 which has shown to be the sweet spot for sedans with rubber tires. The development trend for rubber tires is maintaining plenty of flex on carpet or asphalt so I will be bringing that to my FGX chassis.