Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Team Losi JRXS

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2006, 01:05 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

I have mounted my fan on the side to ensure I get maximum airflow across the endbell (and also aids forward acceleration ). I use a 1 x 40mm fan, which blows more air, uses less current, and weights less the 2 x 25mm fans. It is mounted off lexan which allows it the fold if the car is hit from the side. I've been running this configuration for more then 9 months now and yes it has been slightly damaged from side impacts, but it is still working fine.....
Attached Thumbnails Team Losi JRXS-106_0630_1.jpg   Team Losi JRXS-106_0631_1.jpg  
Old 05-02-2006, 02:35 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Fans

Has anyone thought about thermastatically controlled fan/s that would only cut in when they are needed? No drain on battery until you need it. I also wondered about a beeper or a led of some sort that would go off or on when a certain temp is hit just as a tuning/gearing thing for testing. Either one of these would be very simple circuits to make, durable and weigh next to nothing. Course its not as nice as telemetry but it would be alot cheaper.
Old 05-02-2006, 02:43 PM
Tech Adept

I think with the very low current draw of the fans and the greater capacity of the new batteries you would not notice any diference running the fans all the time as opposed to thermostaticly controlled. You want the motor as cool as possible so running fans all the times would be an advantage. Also the added weight of the circuitry comes into play too. Just my thoughts.
Old 05-02-2006, 02:49 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by 2-Bad