R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-04-2011, 08:56 PM   #1
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Can I trim down a fat wire?

Trying to fit a 8 awg wire into an ec3 connector. Could i trim it down to fit? or will that be harmful for my battery?

Or could I solder an inch of 12 awg wire to the end of the 8awg wire?

Last edited by looklikeaflip; 03-04-2011 at 09:42 PM.
looklikeaflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:17 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
simplechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

You can trim it down, it won't hurt anything. Just make sure to tin the wire well so all the strands inside the insulation will still be connected.

Depending on what you are doing, an EC5 might be a better choice and you wouldn't have to trim anything.
__________________
Serpent 811Be - Jammin X2 Carbon e-GT conversion - Axial SCX10 Honcho
simplechamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2011, 11:23 PM   #3
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simplechamp View Post
You can trim it down, it won't hurt anything. Just make sure to tin the wire well so all the strands inside the insulation will still be connected.

Depending on what you are doing, an EC5 might be a better choice and you wouldn't have to trim anything.
How so?

The thick wire I want to trim is on the 2s lipo.
looklikeaflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 12:07 AM   #4
Tech Master
 
simplechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

If it's just a single 2S lipo in a 1/10 vehicle then the EC3 is fine. If it's a pair of 2S in a 1/8 I'd use the bigger EC5.

I think it's ridiculous that these lipos are coming with such thick wire. 10-12AWG is plenty even for 1/8 vehicles.
__________________
Serpent 811Be - Jammin X2 Carbon e-GT conversion - Axial SCX10 Honcho
simplechamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2011, 11:46 AM   #5
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 247
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanks champ.
looklikeaflip is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:38 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net