Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Will this work?????? >

Will this work??????

Will this work??????

Old 01-24-2011, 01:01 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Questions?? Will this work??????

Hello all I was looking to put headlights in drift car. Since I don't want to spend $$$$ on buying a pre-made kit, i'm going to make my own. So my question is, will this set up work???

SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 02:07 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Good day!

No, that will not work. LED's need a current limmiting resitor or they will fail as soon as you put power to them. It has been a while but I will try to draw up a schematic for you and post it a little later.
BCbud is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 02:30 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I will need to know what the voltage drop across the type of LED you are going to use or a spec sheet for the led you are going to use (they are not all the same).
BCbud is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 05:02 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
I will need to know what the voltage drop across the type of LED you are going to use or a spec sheet for the led you are going to use (they are not all the same).
Oh man, that would be awesome!! Thanks!! I don't mean to sound uneducated, but im not sure what you mean. The only info I can really give you is this: Would like the LED's to shine nice and bright, am either looking at a 9V battery, or two AAA for a power source ( which ever you think is better) , and the LED's are 3.6 Volt, 20mA, 1100cd.
That is all I can really tell you. I hope that is okay. Also, are those LED's good enough for what im going to use them for??

Thanks again chap!
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 05:10 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

I had a brain fart, you already told me that lol! But I will need to know how many LED's you are going to use. Your picture only shows 2 but are you going to install lights front and rear?
BCbud is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 06:02 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
I had a brain fart, you already told me that lol! But I will need to know how many LED's you are going to use. Your picture only shows 2 but are you going to install lights front and rear?
Lol, no problem. No only in the front. Im just going to run 2 head lights because I dont have light buckets for the rear. So just 2 LED head lights.
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 06:16 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

OK, I was just looking at your drawing and it says 3.2V but you are telling me 3.6, I just want to make shure witch votage LED's you are planning to use?
BCbud is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 06:41 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
OK, I was just looking at your drawing and it says 3.2V but you are telling me 3.6, I just want to make shure witch votage LED's you are planning to use?
Im sorry, they are indeed 3.6 . The drawing is wrong ( sorry!)
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 07:35 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (37)
 
BCbud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 760
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Good day!

This should work for you. There are other ways of doing it but this way if one LED fails, the other will still work.
Attached Thumbnails Will this work??????-scan0001.jpg  
BCbud is offline  
Old 01-24-2011, 08:41 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (73)
 
simplechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

Why use a separate 9V battery when you already have 5-6V available at the RX? The schematic will still work, just need to adjust the resistor value and plug into an open RX channel. The amount of current is quite small, and would be negligible as far as affecting your runtime.

Last edited by simplechamp; 01-24-2011 at 08:51 PM.
simplechamp is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 04:50 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
sliding_josh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: D/FW --TEXAS
Posts: 1,173
Trader Rating: 21 (92%+)
Default

Dude just buy a LED kit!

I just won one on ebay auction for $10 shipped
sliding_josh is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 09:45 PM
  #12  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
Good day!

This should work for you. There are other ways of doing it but this way if one LED fails, the other will still work.

That you so much for that chap! I really appreciate it.
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-26-2011, 09:46 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
SubarooMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Delaware
Posts: 103
Default

Originally Posted by sliding_josh View Post
Dude just buy a LED kit!

I just won one on ebay auction for $10 shipped

Because I would not be learning anything that way brah.
SubarooMike is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 09:53 AM
  #14  
Tech Champion
 
tc3team's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 6,151
Default

I know some ESC's can support brake lighting if that is an option for you?

The Tekin G11Pro does that if you wanted to look into it.
tc3team is offline  
Old 01-27-2011, 06:44 PM
  #15  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
tunerjetta29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Fontana,CA
Posts: 690
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BCbud View Post
Good day!

This should work for you. There are other ways of doing it but this way if one LED fails, the other will still work.
Looks to me like your running 9V through each LED only rated for 3.6V. They don't share voltage in a parallel circuit. Also your Ohm's law formula is the calculation for total resistance in a series circuit when you have clearly made a parallel circuit. Try again.
tunerjetta29 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.