R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-20-2004, 08:41 AM   #706
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 199
Default

Liam_Davies - Thanks!

Euge - I really like the idea of doing that to a TC3. I have been having fun with the Micro's myself and saw someone in a Magazine that did that to their TC3 and been thinking about doing one myself ever since.

It is not for everyone though.
studysession is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 08:52 AM   #707
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Teesside, UK
Posts: 138
Default

Quote:
Well Liam, you're just WRONG!!!
No you are...


(You weren't being serious were you?? )
Liam_Davies is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:09 AM   #708
Tech Master
 
Euge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,429
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by studysession
Euge - I really like the idea of doing that to a TC3. I have been having fun with the Micro's myself and saw someone in a Magazine that did that to their TC3 and been thinking about doing one myself ever since.
That's fine, but I wouldn't call it 1/18th scale.

you know, i've always wanted an 1/8th scale off road car. who knew I could just stretch out a 1/10 scale!!! It was sitting here under my nose all this time!

ajg, you're my hero!!
Euge is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:14 AM   #709
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 199
Default

Euge - Sorry, but I never thought about it going the other way to make a 1/8 scale like that. You are briliant! Sorry, could not resist making a comment. ROFLMAO on this one. I want a 1/8 scale like that too, will you make me one!

Last edited by studysession; 08-20-2004 at 09:30 AM.
studysession is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:20 AM   #710
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Teesside, UK
Posts: 138
Default

How on earth did he work out it would 1/18th scale...

Measure it up against his micro rs4?

Quite a good looking truck mind, very individual. Probably a good basher! Would never pay that much for it mind. It's a TC3 with two carbon bits inbetween, if you buy a racer spec TC3 and get fibrelyte.co.uk to do a chassis for you, it would cost under 180 (or under $230ish to you American folk).

Liam
Liam_Davies is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:24 AM   #711
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,416
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I think i could do a better job cutting that chassis with a dremel and hacksaw


Quote:
Originally posted by Liam_Davies
How on earth did he work out it would 1/18th scale...

Measure it up against his micro rs4?

Quite a good looking truck mind, very individual. Probably a good basher! Would never pay that much for it mind. It's a TC3 with two carbon bits inbetween, if you buy a racer spec TC3 and get fibrelyte.co.uk to do a chassis for you, it would cost under 180 (or under $230ish to you American folk).

Liam
071crazy is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:28 AM   #712
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Teesside, UK
Posts: 138
Default

I dunno, he might've done it with "my first tool set" from the toy store...
Liam_Davies is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:36 AM   #713
Tech Master
 
Euge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,429
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

now, now......we all know he goes to 'special' school.

He's still trying to grasp numbers. he gets 70 confused with 40. He doesn't realize that his calibration technique wouldn't hold water anywhere outside his 'special' school.
I'm sure the school he's at won't let him use anything sharper than a butter knife to make that "1/18" scale.

studysession- I could probably make you one in the fraction of the time of ajg as I have mastered exotic techniques such as soldering, shrink wrapping and fixing a receiver/ESC connector cable that ajg still struggles with.

I must say, ajg should go into marketing (when he grows up) because he has the ability to take absolute crap and generate this much interest/discussion on it.
Euge is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 09:45 AM   #714
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Teesside, UK
Posts: 138
Default

He's gonna have to realise people are gonna continually rip him until he backs his claims up!

Funny how in nearly every post i've seen from Ajg he's always on about speeds in mph... how he knows these I don't know...
Liam_Davies is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 10:23 AM   #715
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,416
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Euge
now, now......we all know he goes to 'special' school.

He's still trying to grasp numbers. he gets 70 confused with 40. He doesn't realize that his calibration technique wouldn't hold water anywhere outside his 'special' school.
I'm sure the school he's at won't let him use anything sharper than a butter knife to make that "1/18" scale.

studysession- I could probably make you one in the fraction of the time of ajg as I have mastered exotic techniques such as soldering, shrink wrapping and fixing a receiver/ESC connector cable that ajg still struggles with.

I must say, ajg should go into marketing (when he grows up) because he has the ability to take absolute crap and generate this much interest/discussion on it.
Need we say future consultant????

Actually, he needs to learn proper grammar and spelling to get such a job. Heck, I could spell and utilize much better grammar when i was in grade school. But then again, I went to "regular" school.
071crazy is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 11:20 AM   #716
Tech Elite
 
Jack Smash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 2,897
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

He keeps claiming these speeds with his VSM and the thing is already inaccurate at 38mph and spinning much fewer RPMS than his micro at 70mph. The car action test was done with an offroad truck with much larger tires than his micro. I havent done any math regarding ratios but I would guess hes spinning the VSM 5 times faster than Car Actions test and it was already inaccurate at the speeds the were spinning it.
Jack Smash is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 11:30 AM   #717
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 199
Default

I believe that VSM can very accurate if setup correclty. I own 4 of them myself.

Biggest thing, if not setup properly, they can be way off. Putting it on the axle and it spinning that fast is no big. The biggest thing is wheel spin. If setup correctly and if he gets any wheel spin, then his speed is completely off.

I learned this the hard way - One time I though I did a 60MPh+ run with 6 cells on my 1/10 scale. I did the same run 5 more times with same setup. The speed was more like 40 - 42MPh not 60MPh+ like it read before. I am sure the 60MPh+ was do to wheel spin when that happened.
studysession is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 11:36 AM   #718
Tech Master
 
lazyboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Franklin,WI
Posts: 1,536
Send a message via AIM to lazyboy
Default

i think its time we laughed at something else for a change
Attached Images
File Type: jpg wizard9.jpg (90.8 KB, 61 views)
__________________
Random Guy
FT B4
Sponsored by Axiom Motors
Trackside hobbies
lazyboy is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 11:36 AM   #719
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,416
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

so it's not really a matter of the VSM being inaccurate, it's the wheelspin that makes the reading false. I think we're all arguing about the same agreed conclusion.

Quote:
Originally posted by studysession
I believe that VSM can very accurate if setup correclty. I own 4 of them myself.

Biggest thing, if not setup properly, they can be way off. Putting it on the axle and it spinning that fast is no big. The biggest thing is wheel spin. If setup correctly and if he gets any wheel spin, then his speed is completely off.

I learned this the hard way - One time I though I did a 60MPh+ run with 6 cells on my 1/10 scale. I did the same run 5 more times with same setup. The speed was more like 40 - 42MPh not 60MPh+ like it read before. I am sure the 60MPh+ was do to wheel spin when that happened.
071crazy is offline  
Old 08-20-2004, 11:38 AM   #720
Tech Elite
 
rdub202's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: TeamAcademy/MRC, MI
Posts: 2,359
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rdub202
Default Re: Re: Re: I KNOW WHERE HIS TC3 WENT!!!!!!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by Euge
I love it. what a loser.

so I guess you could take his hacked up TC3, stretch it out to be the same length as a real monster truck and call it a 1/1 scale monster truck......even though it uses 1/10th scale parts. that's awesome.

He spends his days in school.......obviously it's a 'special' school if you catch my drift.
ya he prolly takes the 1/18th bus
__________________
_|Team Academy GV2 Pro_|_Team Academy SBV2 Pro|_--->Losi xxxbK2 (FOR SALE)
_|Factory Tracks Midwest Series_|_www.factorytracks.com|_
_|Team Upgrade-RCid_|_www.upgrade-rc.com|_
_|MRC/Team Academy_|_www.modelrec.com|_
rdub202 is offline  
Closed Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hauler bag that holds everything? platinumjason Rookie Zone 6 06-09-2007 09:18 PM
Speed Record 104 mph Drag Car b4maz Electric On-Road 9 04-04-2007 09:45 AM
"Official" Speed Record 134.4mph XrayFK Electric On-Road 14 08-09-2006 05:00 AM
elec car speed record rx3dreams Electric On-Road 12 08-03-2006 01:01 PM
speed record HELLION Nitro On-Road 5 08-23-2004 11:19 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:52 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net