Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Crystal interchangable? >

Crystal interchangable?

Crystal interchangable?

Old 07-13-2004, 07:27 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: LI, New York
Posts: 370
Default Crystal interchangable?

Does anyone know if I can use Futaba 3PK crystal (TX) in an Aitronics M8?
Jasonchi is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 07:30 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
KE4PJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Columbia,Tn.
Posts: 799
Default

No, you can't !
KE4PJO is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 08:33 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
Neil Rabara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Lone Star
Posts: 4,821
Default

You can try it, there may be some overlap and glitching could occur.
Neil Rabara is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 09:01 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
imjonah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 704
Default general answer on crystals

I have heard it both ways. I have seen one company say that the radio makers claim you need to use their crystals because they want to sell you their own brand at heavy markups.
I have read that you should use a matched pair from one manufacture. I have seen it said you should use the brand of the tranmitter. I have receiver which insists it will only work if you use crystals from them.
Does anyone have real information on whether there are real differences.
imjonah is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 09:09 AM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Pa
Posts: 574
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

It wont work, I've already tried it.
rcguy2477 is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 09:43 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Maquoketa, IA
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

27mhz AM and FM are generally interchangeable (for sure on AM) 75 mhz AM & FM are rarely interchangeable. The only swap that I have had successful on 75 AM was KO and Airtronics.
slots is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 02:53 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Exclamation

I agree to slot. I've been doing this when I have the same freq on the track 27mhz AM band. In FM band I haven't tried it...
Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 02:59 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
 
imjonah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 704
Default

I take it you are saying that on the 27mhz band the different brands are interchangeable; i.e you could use 27 mhz AM Futaba Crystal on a 27mhz Airtronics transmitter or receiver

not that you could use 27 mhz AM crystals on a 27mhz FM transmitter and receiver.
imjonah is offline  
Old 07-13-2004, 07:55 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: minn
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

just got an m8 on 27mhz and tried my ko 27mhz crystals in it and it would not work. both are fm
magnum is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.