Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Associated TC6 Thread > Team Associated TC6 Thread
Like Tree20Likes

Team Associated TC6 Thread


Old 11-17-2011, 09:47 AM
  #4576  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (50)
 
Logi Maker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,674
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zi032 View Post
How far away is everyones drive belt to their battery. I feel like mines going to rub. There is mayybe a .5 mm gap. Is this normal? I feel like somethings not right. The battery brace lines up almost perfectly with the belt. My battery is 46.5 mm wide which is pretty average comparing size of many hardshell 2s lipo.
You should shim out the center battery brace (by the belt). Try a pieces of servo tape and leave the backing on the side facing the battery. You may have to dremel the battery braces (L shaped ones) to accomodate the difference. I glued a piece of carbon fiber to mine and dremeled it down which also worked..

Reflex Racing will be releasing the ultimate "fix" soon...

Team Associated TC6 Thread-374872_2427542362177_1060100395_2740555_1074722561_n.jpg
Logi Maker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 09:55 AM
  #4577  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
TRXRACER99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,094
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zi032 View Post
How far away is everyones drive belt to their battery. I feel like mines going to rub. There is mayybe a .5 mm gap. Is this normal? I feel like somethings not right. The battery brace lines up almost perfectly with the belt. My battery is 46.5 mm wide which is pretty average comparing size of many hardshell 2s lipo. Still waiting on screws that were missing in my kit...
mine has about a 3mm gap
TRXRACER99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:00 AM
  #4578  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Buckaroo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norfolk, VA
Posts: 1,503
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by zi032 View Post
How far away is everyones drive belt to their battery. I feel like mines going to rub. There is mayybe a .5 mm gap. Is this normal? I feel like somethings not right. The battery brace lines up almost perfectly with the belt. My battery is 46.5 mm wide which is pretty average comparing size of many hardshell 2s lipo. Still waiting on screws that were missing in my kit...
I just used another center battery stop from ASC31318, placing one forward and one rearward instead of only one in the center. $5 solution to a percieved problem.
Buckaroo is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:03 AM
  #4579  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (42)
 
Asharus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 3,123
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
I just used another center battery stop from ASC31318, placing one forward and one rearward instead of only one in the center. $5 solution to a percieved problem.
i was thinking about doing this... i have an extra battery stop. i'll just have to gather up some screws.
Asharus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:17 AM
  #4580  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sczrface85 View Post
ok my next question which one do you think is the best kit out the tc6 xray top or serpant
The TC6 is as capable as any of the kits mentioned. The questions you should ask yourself is, what car fits your budget taking into account replacement parts costs and availability. Do you have resources in your area for set up tips relative to the track you race on. These are all quality kits but the TC6 cost less and works well.
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:20 AM
  #4581  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
TRXRACER99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,094
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
The TC6 is as capable as any of the kits mentioned. The questions you should ask yourself is, what car fits your budget taking into account replacement parts costs and availability. Do you have resources in your area for set up tips relative to the track you race on. These are all quality kits but the TC6 cost less and works well.
good point I have came to notice the Group of people that have the same car are the people who run the fastest. Not the Person who has a car nobody else has.
TRXRACER99 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:34 AM
  #4582  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (93)
 
Odin544's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Kennewick, Washington
Posts: 3,166
Trader Rating: 93 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Buckaroo View Post
I just used another center battery stop from ASC31318, placing one forward and one rearward instead of only one in the center. $5 solution to a percieved problem.
did the same thing. works great.
Odin544 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:37 AM
  #4583  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
YoDog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Bay area, Ca.
Posts: 1,724
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Odin544 View Post
did the same thing. works great.
+1 here...

Actually the kit should come with 2 stops. How much more would it cost?
I makes sense don't you think?
YoDog is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 10:40 AM
  #4584  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
roger999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 841
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by YoDog View Post
+1 here...

Actually the kit should come with 2 stops. How much more would it cost?
I makes sense don't you think?
I just put some weights in the middle and they keep battery i one position. But yes, AE should do another stop.
roger999 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 11:23 AM
  #4585  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by roger999 View Post
I just put some weights in the middle and they keep battery i one position. But yes, AE should do another stop.

Thats exactly what i do, i run the weights right down the middle and the car is balanced.
Jeff Cuffs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:49 PM
  #4586  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (92)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

How can you run the weights in the middle and be balanced? lipo is way lighter then the rest of the side usually... I just got my TC6... havent gotten to that part yet.

Jeff. Got a latest setup for a Med to low bite track?
BSchorr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:58 PM
  #4587  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (92)
 
BSchorr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 4,820
Trader Rating: 92 (100%+)
Default

Also... I am having a struggle... What Spur do I run where I can get the dam wrench through to the rear motor mount... I want to be at 100 spur or less. Dont want to have to get another range of pinions to run a higher spur.
BSchorr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:14 PM
  #4588  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: E-Town Posse
Posts: 1,573
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I always run a 96 spur. I agree that it shouldn't be balanced but its pretty close to being perfect using fishing string method.
Jeff Cuffs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:32 PM
  #4589  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (12)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,530
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BSchorr View Post
How can you run the weights in the middle and be balanced? lipo is way lighter then the rest of the side usually... I just got my TC6... havent gotten to that part yet.

Jeff. Got a latest setup for a Med to low bite track?
The electronics are pretty close to the center of the car, it is much more balanced than say the tc5 was. With a low profile servo, micro rx and the transponder on the bumper (instead of on the servo), I actually come in a couple grams light on the electronics side.

Originally Posted by BSchorr View Post
Also... I am having a struggle... What Spur do I run where I can get the dam wrench through to the rear motor mount... I want to be at 100 spur or less. Dont want to have to get another range of pinions to run a higher spur.
+1 for a 96 for blinky. Use the other motor mount hole on the bottom of the mount, then you don't have to worry about reaching thru the spur
geeunit1014 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:42 PM
  #4590  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

it is alway possible to drill one hole in the spur to have a wrench and screw going through
olly986 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service