Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TB-Evolution IV > Tamiya TB-Evolution IV

Tamiya TB-Evolution IV


Old 09-10-2004, 09:07 AM
  #1336  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Auburn, Wa
Posts: 2,265
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Corey was running a 415 also. I am pretty sure it was a std suspension car.
Difuser is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 09:14 AM
  #1337  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (10)
 
F. Alonso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,141
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hmmmmm, I thought that might be the case. I haven't really been able to develop my car and a setup at all. I've been waiting on parts forever!!!! I have only raced it once and I broke something, been waiting ever since. Even so, I still think that its gonna be a blast. From all prior Touring Car experience I've had, I've never had a car that was properly prepared, but even so I think that I should go okay. I'll be flying the flag for the Evo IVs down under, as well as a few others methinks. My main focus is in F1 with the F201. That's my baby and I have that car all sorted out and ready to ROCK!!! Hopefully I'll be competing with Neil up in Japan at the Worlds!!! :-)
F. Alonso is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 10:47 AM
  #1338  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
linger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Retired
Posts: 1,132
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by John Doucakis
I am thinking of replacing my 414 with a new Tamiya.

The TRF 415 thread is very active and I get a lot of info from there for that car, but the EVO IV thread is not very informative.

Arenīt there many users of the EVO IV yet, or simply the 415 is the favorite?

What I am interested to know is how the striping of the front gears and rear gears is going. Is there any striping or this problem has been fixed.

Has anyone tried a oneway and or a spool upfront?

Thanks,
John.
John - my 414 has been great for me, but the 415 is definitely superior. I was skeptical at first since both are similar: belt drive, same suspension arms etc. You won't be disappointed with the 415. The only must have part not included in the 415 kit would be the A-bridge front arm mount.

About the 415 vs the Evo4. I just got an EVO4 (thanks TamiyaUSA!!) and I'm also trying to source the new suspension arm set for the 415. I'm going to do a back to back to back comparison between a 415, an evo 4 and a 415 with new suspension within the next few weeks. It will take a while to get enough parts/electronics to get 3 chassis running at the same time.

-Ling
linger is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 11:03 AM
  #1339  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 48
Default

What is the part number for A-bridge front arm mount? Is it #53685?

Thanks.
Tamiya Virus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 02:48 PM
  #1340  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I've been running my Evo IV with good success. The 415 is on the shelf right now til I finish up my LW suspension for it (hopefully 1 week). But so far the IV has been good to me. It's not as smooth as the 415 though. But that's mainly the belt issue.

No stripped front gears, but I also use the aluminium gear up front. Only thing that broke on the car was a drive cup. I posted a pic of the mod you can do to correct this. But I'll post up another one.

My car also has Pro4 front spindles that will allow me to run 28mm foams in the winter time. Plus it has bigger bearings. I'm trying to source out the rears... (Dave) hehe...

It's a good car. I just wish they would make a 3mm chassis for it. Gonna need it for carpet. Of course the TC4 will be out just in time for carpet season too haha...
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 02:53 PM
  #1341  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default 3MM CHASSIS

Square may have it in the works...since they came out with a 2.5 and 3mm chasiss for the Evo-III.
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 02:56 PM
  #1342  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Here is another pic of the drive cup with the diff half ring around it...
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TB-Evolution IV-evo4cup2.jpg  
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 02:57 PM
  #1343  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,446
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

And here is another pic of the Pro4 front spindle installed on the Evo IV.
Attached Thumbnails Tamiya TB-Evolution IV-evo4pro4.jpg  
JimmyMac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 02:57 PM
  #1344  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

oh..btw..for the rear hub...I think Dave used the rear hub from the Pro4 as well..
rc-zombies is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 08:03 PM
  #1345  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
KREATOR1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 1,706
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf
And here is another pic of the Pro4 front spindle installed on the Evo IV.
what do you mean by spindle? is it the C hub @ upright @ axle?
KREATOR1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2004, 08:27 PM
  #1346  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 449
Default

Spindle is the US term for the front upright/knuckle
itchynads is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 03:20 AM
  #1347  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (31)
 
JDM_DOHC_SiR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Chula Vista, CA
Posts: 9,070
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by KilRuf


My car also has Pro4 front spindles that will allow me to run 28mm foams in the winter time. Plus it has bigger bearings. I'm trying to source out the rears... (Dave) hehe...

PM me ... I have a set or 2 that I have finished up
-Dave
JDM_DOHC_SiR is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 09:08 AM
  #1348  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (6)
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Question

Does TAMIYA make a stronger ball cups?

I saw a Hop Up Option which is the LOW FRICTION 5MM Adjuster (OP 601), since its not black in color, is it stronger than the Black ones than comes with the kit?

And has anybody used the TAMIYA Ti Drive shafts? The are really nice and light, but not on the wallet.

Thanks! Lem
lem2 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 09:11 AM
  #1349  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
John Doucakis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,109
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys for your helpful info. I will wait and see what is Tamiya's 415 new edition will look like and wait for a full option EVO IV, and then flip a coin and decide
John Doucakis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2004, 10:08 AM
  #1350  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
BigDogRacing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 2,955
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Lem, I liked the low friction ball cups better and felt that they stayed on the ball better, but not a LOT better. Tamiya ball cups are similar to AE in the sense that you should keep mental notes on how many times they have been on/off and exchange them for new ones fairly often. I don't get to race but a few times per month so I replace mine about twice a year.
BigDogRacing is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service