R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Like Tree4Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-08-2005, 05:52 PM   #10516
Tech Adept
 
Trixter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Central Point, OR
Posts: 229
Default

Be sure to check each bearing very varefully too. A blown out or binding bearing can really mess up your ride.
__________________
Slash 4X4, Bone stock and trying to keep it that way.
PRO MATCH BATTERIES.....THANKS JEFF !!
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 07:19 PM   #10517
Tech Adept
 
BatJam1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: EastMeadow Long island NY
Posts: 178
Default

Tear it down and look it over and rebuild it,Set it up properly.then make the comparison.If its used how well are the differentials are they in need of a rebuild.how are the shocks,old oil, no oil? you just cant compare a car like the way you did its just not fair to the car!
BatJam1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 08:09 PM   #10518
Tech Master
 
Hawk6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Freeport, IL
Posts: 1,549
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the advice. I'll keep driving the TB-02 for a while, so I should have time to tear down the TC-3.

Batjam, I wasn't planning on comparing the cars that night. I planned to run the TC3 and brought the TB-02 just in case. I practiced with the TC3, and ran the first qualifying heat with it until I hit a board and broke a front arm. So, I switched to the TB-02 for the second qualifier and picked up my pace by 2 laps (22 lap pace in the first qualifier, to 24 laps completed in the second).

So, I didn't go out to the track thinking "I'm going to compare a several year old TC3 with this brand spankin' new TB-02". But, the fact is, the TB-02 just drove so much better. I'm not saying it was faster, but it was much easier to drive, which in my hands meant I completed more laps.

So, I'm just trying to figure out if the TC3 is designed or set-up for a driver with more skill than me, or is something out of whack. What I'm hearing from all of you is something is probably out of whack.

As for the shocks, I recently re-built them with 50 wt oil in the fronts and 40 in the rear, kit springs: gold and silver.

The diffs are OK, I think. So, that leaves the bearings and hinge pins at either end of the suspension arms.

Thanks.
Hawk6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 08:24 PM   #10519
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I have built the shocks on my TC3 and TC4 plenty of times but this is baffling me. I have had two leaking shocks recently. It appears the VCS bobbin has lost its holding strength and no longer wants to stay "seated" in the bottom of the shock body. This allows the o-rings to uncompress and move up with the VCS bobbin which allows oil out. Do these things wear out from time to time? This is happening on my TC4. I had my TC3 A LOT longer than I've had my TC4 and I never once had this problem with this car. Thanks for letting me post this here. If I remember correctly the internals of the shocks between the 4 and 3 are identical. Any idea besides buying new VCS bobbins?
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2005, 09:57 PM   #10520
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

what kind of shock bodies do you have?...(composite,aluminum,aluminum threaded)
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 04:34 AM   #10521
Tech Adept
 
Trixter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Central Point, OR
Posts: 229
Default

I would say maybe you didn't get the VCS bobbin trimmed perfectly and it isn't locking into place. Or there is a possibility that the inside of the shock might not have been manufactured properly. I've had my TC3 for a long time and never had any trouble with leaking. Hope this helps.
__________________
Slash 4X4, Bone stock and trying to keep it that way.
PRO MATCH BATTERIES.....THANKS JEFF !!
Trixter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 06:21 AM   #10522
Tech Elite
 
andrewdoherty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: ★Wylie, TX★
Posts: 3,776
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

aluminum bodies. The bobbin offers no resistance going into the shock body. I guess the bobbin just wore down on its 8 corners and cant offer the resistance to stay in place. I have since learned the flat washers wont work as the TC3, 4 shocks keep the bobbin in place with friction and not a groove that the washer needs like in the off road shocks. I guess its time to try new bobbins.
__________________
"Whether you think you can, or think you can't, you're right." -Henry Ford
"[Driving] Genius is 1% inspiration, and 99% perspiration" -T.A. Edison
|◤Hobbywing◢|◤SpeedzoneUSA.com◢|◤Pro-One◢|
|◤ReflexRacing.net◢|◤Protoform◢|◤AVID R/C◢|
andrewdoherty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 04:37 PM   #10523
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

most likely to bobin...sorry i guess you do

i have a question now... is AE's solid axle for the tc3 made out of steel or what...can anyone help me out please?

thanks
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 07:25 AM   #10524
PaZ
Tech Master
 
PaZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Cornwall (England)
Posts: 1,262
Default

aint it alluminium? the IRS one is.

Just make ya own like i did for drifting it aint gone wrong yet
__________________
Xray T2 0079
Mardave V12 VRX
Team T.J Cells
CT Race Bodies
PaZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 09:36 AM   #10525
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

how did you make your own
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 12:29 PM   #10526
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 335
Default New BMI TC3 chassis

To all who might be interested - I just talked with BMI and Jason is going to make another batch of new BMI TC3 chassis's - I for one am buying one........................
DLM2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2005, 09:46 PM   #10527
Tech Fanatic
 
anthony390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the race line to pros
Posts: 849
Send a message via AIM to anthony390
Default

kool

and umm... does any one know if the 200mm arms for the tc3 are very much available to buy if needed.

Thanks
anthony390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 10:17 AM   #10528
Tech Master
 
newera152's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Conn
Posts: 1,014
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Post

3 Racing TC4 Aluminum steering knuckles fit the front TC3 just the same. has anyone tried them on the TC3 car. let me know how they fit.
newera152
newera152 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 10:44 AM   #10529
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 335
Default

Several companies sell (or did) sell those. 2 things to think about: 1)weight - they weight more than stock 2)they will bend if hit hard enough (I know everyone drives without hitting anything......... LOL) I have thought several times about using them and haven't. The one thing I have problems with is the stock knucles wear out pretty fast - the top and bottom screw holes (I have tried Losi and they are better) - have tried loc tite/superglue/ect. Does anybody have any have any ideas on a better solution????????
DLM2005 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2005, 07:47 PM   #10530
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 2,520
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by anthony390
kool

and umm... does any one know if the 200mm arms for the tc3 are very much available to buy if needed.

Thanks
I think have some if you need them
DOTMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to the forum mig rod Electric Off-Road 1 01-05-2008 05:23 PM
hi i need help and im new to the forum racer4 Rookie Zone 4 01-21-2007 02:37 PM
Why is this forum listed under the On Road Forum? sport10 Onroad Nitro Engine Zone 0 01-11-2007 08:06 AM
Forum Changes... futureal Wisconsin & Illinois Racing 3 10-28-2002 09:26 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:26 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net