R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-12-2009, 10:34 AM   #3241
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Hi Randy

I'm going to use the RS with a stock brushed motor. Will the timing settings affect it? if so were should I start it out at.

thanks

-=light=-
__________________
Gorden
light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 02:21 PM   #3242
Tech Elite
 
Trips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: 360 Speedway
Posts: 2,251
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The timing of a brushed motor is controlled entirely by the brushes and commutator. The timing settings in the speed control have no effect on a brushed motor.
__________________
MARSHAL!!
Trips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 02:23 PM   #3243
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Victoria B.C Canada
Posts: 390
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trips View Post
The timing of a brushed motor is controlled entirely by the brushes and commutator. The timing settings in the speed control have no effect on a brushed motor.
Thanks for the info.
__________________
Gorden
light is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 07:02 AM   #3244
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 18
Unhappy Brakes!?

Hey All,

Been playing with my speedo settings since i last posted about this, but i'm still struggling to get any brake strength.

I've tried 5 different motors and both v189 and v194. On the bench the brakes seems and sharp, but once it hits the track and put some weight behind it, they're incredibly weak to the point of being closer to drag brakes!

for my current settings, see attachment.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated as im desperate for some kind of breaks!

I would also add, that one of the configs i've tried, is the RS, Tekin redline 13.5 and the tekin 3400 lipos

TIA

Ian
Attached Thumbnails
Tekin RS ESC sensored-tekin194.jpg  
DaSloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 07:35 AM   #3245
Tech Apprentice
 
C5Vette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 57
Default

Not sure if it will help, but did you try turning the push control off?
C5Vette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 07:54 AM   #3246
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 18
Default

i only put push control on since having 1.94 so yep thats been done and it didnt help.
DaSloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 07:56 AM   #3247
Tech Master
 
rcterp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: No mans land.
Posts: 1,032
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaSloth View Post
Hey All,

Been playing with my speedo settings since i last posted about this, but i'm still struggling to get any brake strength.

I've tried 5 different motors and both v189 and v194. On the bench the brakes seems and sharp, but once it hits the track and put some weight behind it, they're incredibly weak to the point of being closer to drag brakes!

for my current settings, see attachment.

Any suggestions would be much appreciated as im desperate for some kind of breaks!

I would also add, that one of the configs i've tried, is the RS, Tekin redline 13.5 and the tekin 3400 lipos

TIA

Ian
Do you have the brake % turned down on your radio?
__________________
Φ
Glitter Lidz - "My driving doesn't shine but my lid does!!"
rcterp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 07:59 AM   #3248
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 18
Default

Nope, i actually set it from 100% to 120% on sunday and then re calibrated the speedo to that, just to be sure.

The lights go all the way down to end when braking and as i say, when under no load, the brakes are instant and sharp.

Thanks for the suggestions so far guys
DaSloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:37 AM   #3249
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

What radio are you using? You may want to try turning your neutral width to around 20 and keep reseting your radio to esc
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:42 AM   #3250
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 18
Default

i'm using the futaba 3pk and i've also tried a KO Universe 3. Neither seem to help, but ill try a bigger NW this weekend.

ta
DaSloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:54 AM   #3251
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

when you hit full brake, do all the lights light up then start blinking?

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 08:57 AM   #3252
Tech Master
 
Kenny L's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaSloth View Post
i'm using the futaba 3pk and i've also tried a KO Universe 3. Neither seem to help, but ill try a bigger NW this weekend.

ta


The 3pk is known to have braking issues with nw less than 20 so that should be your fix. Hope that helps
__________________
Team Tekin, Ko Propo America
Kenny L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 09:03 AM   #3253
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
when you hit full brake, do all the lights light up then start blinking?

--pakk
No

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny L View Post
The 3pk is known to have braking issues with nw less than 20 so that should be your fix. Hope that helps
But they do now!

Thanks guys, hopefully this is the fix im looking for. this is why i love using tekin products
DaSloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 09:11 AM   #3254
Tech Elite
 
pakk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,077
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

well your ESC does not think you are pushing full brake. So try doing that initial radio setup thing where you hold down the mode button as you turn it on.

--pakk
__________________
*Photon* *SC10 4x4*
RCRD
pakk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2009, 09:26 AM   #3255
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hertfordshire, UK
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pakk View Post
well your ESC does not think you are pushing full brake. So try doing that initial radio setup thing where you hold down the mode button as you turn it on.

--pakk
I'd done that quite a few times, but obviously didnt fully register it till i took Kenny's advise and changed the neutral width.
DaSloth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin Redline RS Sensored ESC and motors, opinions for offroad? Cain Electric Off-Road 4230 06-07-2015 04:38 PM
Sensored vs. Sensorless lemansracer Electric On-Road 71 02-14-2009 03:19 AM
New Tekin Redline Sensored Motors are Roar Legal! Randy_Pike Electric On-Road 3 08-05-2008 02:08 AM
Tekin Redline Sensored 10.5 HUCKMAN Electric On-Road 6 07-15-2008 08:50 PM
sensored vs sensorless bprocket Rookie Zone 5 05-16-2008 09:38 AM


Tags
v203, vegas 2.0


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:57 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net