Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 11-05-2010, 07:23 PM
  #13426  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 7
Default

Hi all, this is my first post in this thread. I've just bought an M05 Pro and am looking forward to going racing if my batteries ever arrive

I just have a complete newb question so I hope you don't mind. When it says to glue the inserts with rubber cement/glue what glue are you using? Is it even necessary if you are supergluing the tyres to the rims.

Thanks for the help

Simon
Modelholic is offline  
Old 11-05-2010, 10:38 PM
  #13427  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,367
Default

Originally Posted by Modelholic
Hi all, this is my first post in this thread. I've just bought an M05 Pro and am looking forward to going racing if my batteries ever arrive

I just have a complete newb question so I hope you don't mind. When it says to glue the inserts with rubber cement/glue what glue are you using? Is it even necessary if you are supergluing the tyres to the rims.

Thanks for the help

Simon
Contact cement works better for me.
Granpa is offline  
Old 11-05-2010, 11:01 PM
  #13428  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
scribbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 429
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I switched from the tamiya inserts to the Spice/ Ride moulded foam inserts. All you have to is insert them in the tires. Less fuss and muss.
scribbler is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 04:37 AM
  #13429  
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 361
Default

hello chaps;i just pop in for a quick question: will the ball-diff for the M-05 (tam54194) also fit the older M-03?
thx
Low_E is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 04:41 AM
  #13430  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (35)
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Low_E
hello chaps;i just pop in for a quick question: will the ball-diff for the M-05 (tam54194) also fit the older M-03?
thx

No, the M05 ball diff uses 15 x 10 outdrive bearings. Cant fit in the M03 which uses outdrives which slip through 11 x 5 bearings
cannon is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 06:43 AM
  #13431  
Tech Regular
 
Low_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 361
Default

I also read somewhere that you can fit a TA05-diff into the M-03. Is that correct?
It does use the same bearings, AFAIK
Low_E is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 06:56 AM
  #13432  
Tech Regular
 
silvermag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: kamloops B.C.
Posts: 458
Default

this is a little off topic but i had to post it...

‎1) Go to Google Maps 2) Click on Get Directions 3) Type in Japan as starting point 4) Type in China as ending point 5) Go to number 43 on the directions 6) Laugh
silvermag is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 07:07 AM
  #13433  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
TraxxasPeter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Mattituck,LI, NY
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silvermag
this is a little off topic but i had to post it...

‎1) Go to Google Maps 2) Click on Get Directions 3) Type in Japan as starting point 4) Type in China as ending point 5) Go to number 43 on the directions 6) Laugh
lol thats so funny just did it
TraxxasPeter is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 07:12 AM
  #13434  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (30)
 
k_bojar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Posts: 7,021
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Low_E
I also read somewhere that you can fit a TA05-diff into the M-03. Is that correct?
It does use the same bearings, AFAIK
won't work - the TA05 is a belt-drive car, so its got a pulley instead of a bevel gear like the m05 needs

the M05 ball diff is similar to the ta05 diff in design and probaby some parts - but the main (important) gears are different
k_bojar is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 07:56 AM
  #13435  
Tech Master
iTrader: (26)
 
sportpak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ft Wayne, IN
Posts: 1,314
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Low_E
I also read somewhere that you can fit a TA05-diff into the M-03. Is that correct?
It does use the same bearings, AFAIK
I've had good luck with the TA03 diff. Dap of locktite on the screw and bottom it out.
sportpak is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 03:22 PM
  #13436  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (35)
 
cannon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: A total distraction
Posts: 7,266
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Low_E
I also read somewhere that you can fit a TA05-diff into the M-03. Is that correct?
It does use the same bearings, AFAIK

The diff that you are referring to is the TA03 ball diff NOT the TA05. It fits. Also the Manta ray ball diff will fit
cannon is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 03:45 PM
  #13437  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (38)
 
caltek1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,422
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

The TAO3 ball diff is the best choice for either the MO3 or MO5 mini. The MO5 diff is not reliable unless you modify it, so it works properly. I have broken numerous diff bolts on the MO5 diff and replaced them with thicker bolts and thrust washers. Then you transfer the wear onto the aluminium diff halves which then scoreand spread open.

If you use the hardened outdrives on the MO5 diff, with a 3mm diff screw, with a 3mm thrustbearing and then retap the 416 diff nut and grind down to fit the slot in the hardened outdrives the diff will work. Not all will want to go to so much trouble....

To prevent all that work, just build the TAO3 ball diff and add nitro fuel line into the diff cups and good to go.

The diff comes down to how tight do you want it to be. I prefer with our HW BL systems to use a tight diff and accept the wear. If you do not use a tight diff then you get lunched off the line and when trying to get out of the corners.

BTW,

silvermag,

That is funny for a sunday morning read.

Anyway good luck with what you decide.

Calvin

Last edited by caltek1; 11-06-2010 at 03:46 PM. Reason: extra text
caltek1 is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 03:57 PM
  #13438  
Tech Master
iTrader: (71)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Duluth,MN
Posts: 1,976
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Does the Tamiya 104 speedo have 2 plugs that plug into the receiver? If so, the 3 wire one would go into ch. 2 ,what is the second 2 wire one for?
G the Menace is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 05:03 PM
  #13439  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Official's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Singapore
Posts: 474
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by G the Menace
Does the Tamiya 104 speedo have 2 plugs that plug into the receiver? If so, the 3 wire one would go into ch. 2 ,what is the second 2 wire one for?
The slot that marks Batt in your receiver.
Official is offline  
Old 11-06-2010, 05:19 PM
  #13440  
Tech Master
iTrader: (71)
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Duluth,MN
Posts: 1,976
Trader Rating: 71 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Official
The slot that marks Batt in your receiver.
Thanks for the info! Out of curiosity, do you know what it's for? I haven't seen this before and am just wondering.
G the Menace is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.