Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya mini cooper >

Tamiya mini cooper

Like Tree288Likes

Tamiya mini cooper

Old 06-01-2010, 08:28 PM
  #12451  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Steve420
Do the 3racing "m03m" suspension parts (i.e. hubs, uprights, etc..) interchange with the m04l?

I'm only asking because it seems easier to find M03M parts....
I have both M03M and M04 and lots of the parts are interchangeable. Of course not the chassis or the shock towers they are both different but the hubs and uprights seem to be the same. I'm not sure about the M04L but for the M04 its the same. I assume that the M04L is only longer and the other parts are the same.
M03Racer is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:49 PM
  #12452  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default



this is my RACING M05 , i think this is all the Alloy parts you need to still race reliably, other wise in a crash you will bend alloy and plastic will flex.

if you are not racing then BLING BLING
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:54 PM
  #12453  
Tech Addict
 
PaPeRo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 692
Default

Originally Posted by M03Racer
I have both M03M and M04 and lots of the parts are interchangeable. Of course not the chassis or the shock towers they are both different but the hubs and uprights seem to be the same. I'm not sure about the M04L but for the M04 its the same. I assume that the M04L is only longer and the other parts are the same.
I have both M04 and M04L and the only difference is a chassis spacer block in the L version fitted between the main frame and gearbox. Dpending on what body you mount you will need to use the right body posts.
PaPeRo is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 11:55 PM
  #12454  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
lupin_au's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Clifton Springs Vic
Posts: 252
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by sidecarphil1


this is my RACING M05 , i think this is all the Alloy parts you need to still race reliably, other wise in a crash you will bend alloy and plastic will flex.

if you are not racing then BLING BLING
Hmm so thats got Yellow Springs front and Red springs rear.

How is that working for you with the 05?
lupin_au is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 12:35 AM
  #12455  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,920
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by lupin_au
Hmm so thats got Yellow Springs front and Red springs rear.

How is that working for you with the 05?
This was the indoor set up

it was the quickest mini in our club

i did get beeten in out 6hrs race due to gearbox issues !!!!
sidecarphil1 is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 05:56 AM
  #12456  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario Canada
Posts: 159
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gashuffer
That 510 is a ABC Genetic body if you don't know that already.
The 510 shown is an HPI 510. I know that for sure.
Bodywerx_rc is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 10:33 AM
  #12457  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

What turn brushless motor should I go with when I wanna match the speed of a 25T brushed GT tuned Tamiya motor. And what KV should I look for, I don't want insane speed like I said I want to match the 25T brushed motor. Thanks
M03Racer is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 10:56 AM
  #12458  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
kwkride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,171
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M03Racer
What turn brushless motor should I go with when I wanna match the speed of a 25T brushed GT tuned Tamiya motor.

I would say that you probably need a 17.5
That's what I am running in mine right now, and it's really close to the speed of the "fast" silver cans that are running locally. I tried a 21.5 first, and it was noticeably slower than the silver cans.
kwkride is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 11:21 AM
  #12459  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kwkride
I would say that you probably need a 17.5
That's what I am running in mine right now, and it's really close to the speed of the "fast" silver cans that are running locally. I tried a 21.5 first, and it was noticeably slower than the silver cans.
Where would a 16T 2400KV rate at, would this be slower or faster then the 17.5T. And what KV is your 17.5T.
M03Racer is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 11:28 AM
  #12460  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
kwkride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,171
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M03Racer
Where would a 16T 2400KV rate at, would this be slower or faster then the 17.5T. And what KV is your 17.5T.
The 16t would be a little faster than the 17.5
The 17.5 is rated at 2200kv
kwkride is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 11:40 AM
  #12461  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

So hypothetically speaking the 16T would be like a 21T or 22T brushed motor. Cause I've seen the 16T brushless motors are cheaper then the 17.5T. Why is a faster motor less expensive then slower motor.
M03Racer is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 09:06 AM
  #12462  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
kwkride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,171
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M03Racer
So hypothetically speaking the 16T would be like a 21T or 22T brushed motor.
This sounds reasonable. It's just a guess of course.

Originally Posted by M03Racer
Cause I've seen the 16T brushless motors are cheaper then the 17.5T. Why is a faster motor less expensive then slower motor.
I would guess that it must have something to do with supply and demand.
kwkride is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 10:44 AM
  #12463  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

So if I get a 2230KV motor this should work it wouldn't be too fast for my M04 right. Cause I found a great deal on a Tacon 2230KV combo.

Last edited by M03Racer; 06-03-2010 at 03:11 PM.
M03Racer is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 11:04 AM
  #12464  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
kwkride's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 1,171
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M03Racer
So if I get a 2230KV motor this should work it wouldn't be too fast for my M04 right. Cause I found a great deal on a Tacom 2230KV combo.
Sounds good to me.
kwkride is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 11:11 AM
  #12465  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
M03Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Great Lakes
Posts: 1,190
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kwkride
Sounds good to me.

Also the ESC that comes with the motor is a 25A ESC is this good enough to run the 2230KV motor or do I need a bigger Amped ESC.
Thanks for all your help kwkride.

Last edited by M03Racer; 06-03-2010 at 12:23 PM.
M03Racer is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.