Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X >

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Like Tree4Likes

Tamiya TRF416 / TRF416WE / TRF416X

Old 04-30-2012, 06:52 AM
  #10531  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Mister-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Amsterdam/Jakarta/Dubai
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kevin K View Post
After Monday I will let you know.

They built up nice and straight so thats good now just need to see how they work on the track.
Hi Kevin,

Any news on the chassis?

I'm about to order one.
How does it compare with standard chassis?

Tx
Mister-E is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 11:28 AM
  #10532  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mister-E View Post
Hi Kevin,

Any news on the chassis?

I'm about to order one.
How does it compare with standard chassis?

Tx
Ohh sorry I didnt respond sooner. The Chassis has been great so far on carpet. A big improvment over the stock chassis....more flex more traction and faster lap times..this is all on carpet hope to be able to race on asphalt this weekend if the weather is nice up here. It doesnt tweak or hold a tweak Exotek did a great job on this one hats off to them. The one thing I like is that its like 20mm narrower then the stock chassis. I will post a picture of my car later tonight.
Kevin K is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 12:19 PM
  #10533  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Can anybody explain the difference why there are 2 lengths for the rear belt? I picked up my 416 used and would like to know which belt to purchase for replacement.
tr1kstanc3 is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 12:39 PM
  #10534  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (14)
 
geeunit1014's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: The dirty burnie
Posts: 5,744
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tr1kstanc3 View Post
Can anybody explain the difference why there are 2 lengths for the rear belt? I picked up my 416 used and would like to know which belt to purchase for replacement.
From the WE to the X the layshaft was moved towards the rear of the car, so the X has a shorter rear belt (and longer front belt).
geeunit1014 is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 01:02 PM
  #10535  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
Mister-E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Amsterdam/Jakarta/Dubai
Posts: 142
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Kevin, tx for posting your findings.
Just ordered one and looking forward in building it.
My main use will be for asfalt so I hope it will perform as well like on carpet.
Looking forward in seeing some pictures and some tips, if any.
Mister-E is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 03:14 PM
  #10536  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
From the WE to the X the layshaft was moved towards the rear of the car, so the X has a shorter rear belt (and longer front belt).
Thanks Gee
tr1kstanc3 is offline  
Old 04-30-2012, 05:54 PM
  #10537  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,852
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by geeunit1014 View Post
From the WE to the X the layshaft was moved towards the rear of the car, so the X has a shorter rear belt (and longer front belt).
They didnt move the layshaft they moved the rear diff location on the X...if they moved the layshaft the front belt would change as well.
Kevin K is offline  
Old 05-01-2012, 12:40 AM
  #10538  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Kevin K View Post
They didnt move the layshaft they moved the rear diff location on the X...if they moved the layshaft the front belt would change as well.
Correct, everyone was running 1mm different wheelbase from kit so they moved the diff to straighten the axles out
CraigM is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 04:16 PM
  #10539  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 321
Default

Hey J Tran

Does Hobbyworks carry parts for the 416 and 417? Where do you race?
M3CSLDreamin is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 05:13 PM
  #10540  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (12)
 
mingnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sutherland Shire
Posts: 962
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Spur question

Just wanting to know, do the RW spur gears (eg. RW480064X) fit on the TRF416?

Need to replace after catching a rock and not sure.

cheers
mingnon is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 06:31 PM
  #10541  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (18)
 
tr1kstanc3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 357
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by M3CSLDreamin View Post
Hey J Tran

Does Hobbyworks carry parts for the 416 and 417? Where do you race?
Unfortunately they do not. I race at MRH and John's Mobile Raceway up in Maryland. You can find the threads on the racing forum. You trying to race?
tr1kstanc3 is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 07:34 PM
  #10542  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (34)
 
CraigM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 7,009
Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by mingnon View Post
Just wanting to know, do the RW spur gears (eg. RW480064X) fit on the TRF416?

Need to replace after catching a rock and not sure.

cheers
Yes, but IIRC you can only use 2 of the 4 centre shaft screws.
CraigM is offline  
Old 05-02-2012, 08:25 PM
  #10543  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (12)
 
mingnon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Sutherland Shire
Posts: 962
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by CraigM View Post
Yes, but IIRC you can only use 2 of the 4 centre shaft screws.
thanks Craig
mingnon is offline  
Old 05-03-2012, 03:27 PM
  #10544  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 321
Default

Originally Posted by tr1kstanc3 View Post
Unfortunately they do not. I race at MRH and John's Mobile Raceway up in Maryland. You can find the threads on the racing forum. You trying to race?
I race in Manassas on Sunday's. I raced at the "C" and John's before. I plan on going to John's in 2 weeks.
M3CSLDreamin is offline  
Old 05-09-2012, 09:54 AM
  #10545  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
JCarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Dayton,OH
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Haven't seen anything about the Tamiya DCJ's, is nobody using them? I'm wondering if you have to mod the c-hubs to use them?
JCarr is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.