R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-14-2007, 03:00 PM   #136
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 110
Default

hi guys can anyone tell me the specs of the orion 13.5 motor

thanks
skiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 03:19 PM   #137
Tech Elite
 
Jochim_18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CALI
Posts: 2,372
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackedOutREVO View Post
IMO

stock and 5 cell doesnt work the best

As you said, the motor runs flat, and its easy to drive, but its slow

were your lap times faster with 5 cell? if you can get your lap times faster with 5, then who cares if you get motored, the one with the fast lap times, and most laps is who wins..

Let us know if you do find a god FDR though, id like to know

My lap time is tad bit slower than six cells but car is really consistent lap after lap. I can catch guys really easy on the infield or in slower section no problem just on the straight. top end is lucking with the 160' ft back straight I think you need some speed.

But like I said I only have this problem on a big track using 13.5 on stock class. But on small track nobody can beat brushless.
Jochim_18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 03:59 PM   #138
Tech Addict
 
GreaseMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 552
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by syndr0me View Post
I

When I first switched to rubber tires on my Type-R, including the use of a one-way, I immediately started destroying spur gears during minor crashes using the PRS spur adapter. After giving it some thought, I came to the conclusion that since the front of the car was basically fixed (with the one-way as opposed to a diff) giving the car any power while the drive train was bound up was being transferred directly into the spur gear. The PRS gears are thin, and the adapter causes them to sit farther out. It seems the problem is that the torque of the 13.5 was enough to cause the gear to flex and then strip if power was applied while the drive train was bound. This can happen easily if you're on power and have a front end collision using a one-way or spool, or if you try to "bounce" yourself off a board by applying power while a car is stuck.
.
While technically unrelated to 13.5s, I'll tell you what one of the guys at our track has found. He has also been running the JRXS-R in both foam and rubber and found himself stripping spurs with rubber and a one-way only. He found his spur gear shaft was flexing which caused the spur the get damaged. He changed to the JRXS shaft which is 4mm all the way across and hasn't had a problem since. At $4 for the shaft, it's a pretty cheap fix and it fits straight in.
__________________
I'm not a grown man playing with toys. I'm a hobbyist.
GreaseMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 06:52 PM   #139
Tech Addict
 
c1 racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Gulfport, MS
Posts: 608
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to c1 racin Send a message via AIM to c1 racin Send a message via Yahoo to c1 racin
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mi3-Racer View Post
Hi has anybody tried the new Novak GTB "Spread Spektrum" Speedo? Or can anyone rec. anything better?
All I can tell you about it is that I've had two and have seen four others on the track and ALL of them have went up in SMOKE!! As a matter of fact I just got back an brand new one in the pack from Novak to replace the second one of mine that went up in SMOKE that I'll sell you for $150 shipped if you want it.
c1 racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 11:15 PM   #140
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Default

c1 racin, wow what motors are you running 13.5??
Mi3-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 11:50 PM   #141
Tech Addict
 
c1 racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Gulfport, MS
Posts: 608
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to c1 racin Send a message via AIM to c1 racin Send a message via Yahoo to c1 racin
Default

13.5 Novak with 4200 NiMH once and 4.5 Novak with 3200 Orion LiPo once for me (Killed the LiPo pack also by the way) ...... all the others that I've seen were either a 3.5 or 4.5 Novak and Killed two other LiPo packs ..... so if you get one and are going to run LiPo's and it SMOKES you WILL KILL the LiPo pack! But hey maybe I did something wrong ..... even tho I have never had any problems with the other two Novak GTB's (non-Spread Spectrum) that I have ..... so like I said I have one new and sealed for $150 shipped if you want it .....
c1 racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2007, 11:57 PM   #142
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Default

c1 racin omg so what system are you running now? And was the Novak any faster for being spread spektrum capable!!
Mi3-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:03 AM   #143
Tech Addict
 
c1 racin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Gulfport, MS
Posts: 608
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to c1 racin Send a message via AIM to c1 racin Send a message via Yahoo to c1 racin
Default

I run the GTB 13.5 Novak with 4200's (just got the Orion 13.5 and will run it this coming weekend) and GTB 3.5 Novak & 3.5 Orion with 3200 Orion LiPo's ...... Both in Xray '007s ..... I've NEVER had any problem with the #1710 GTB ..... mine SMOKED on the second turn of the first lap and as soon as I hit the gas the second time so I don't know if it was faster or not
c1 racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:07 AM   #144
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Default

c1 Racin so could you tell the difference between the 2 speedos whilst they worked (ie spektrum / non spektrum)
Mi3-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 12:10 AM   #145
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 27
Default

sorry didnt see all of your post
Mi3-Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:35 AM   #146
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,181
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c1 racin View Post
I run the GTB 13.5 Novak with 4200's (just got the Orion 13.5 and will run it this coming weekend) and GTB 3.5 Novak & 3.5 Orion with 3200 Orion LiPo's ...... Both in Xray '007s ..... I've NEVER had any problem with the #1710 GTB ..... mine SMOKED on the second turn of the first lap and as soon as I hit the gas the second time so I don't know if it was faster or not
That sounds like the classic stary small stand of wire that was touching between the PCB.
Kane-o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 08:49 AM   #147
Tech Addict
 
magm20001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 546
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i got a spread spek gtb, runs fine so far.
__________________
RIP Kanye West ..... Mom
magm20001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 09:16 AM   #148
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Arizona
Posts: 466
Send a message via AIM to kyle478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mi3-Racer View Post
c1 Racin so could you tell the difference between the 2 speedos whilst they worked (ie spektrum / non spektrum)

I have run both the ESC's with both 5 cells and 6 cells. I have run the ESC hundreds of times with the Hacker 3.5, 4.5, 10.5, and 13.5.
The ESCs are almost identical as far as performance goes, but the spk GTB keeps alot cooler. If its staying cooler your probably getting the same amount of power, for a longer period of time.

Kyle Bergstrom
__________________
Hacker Brushless USA www.hackerbrushless.com
Aero-Model www.aero-model.com
kyle478 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:16 PM   #149
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,267
Trader Rating: 68 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to joey
Default

what rollout is suggested for TC with the novak 13.5 pro..
__________________
=Joe Wright=
joey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2007, 02:57 PM   #150
Tech Elite
 
Syber Serulean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Riverside
Posts: 3,656
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Syber Serulean
Default

staying with matched 6-cell packs...

how many teeth would i adjust my pinion by when going from a Co27 to a 13.5 brushless with sintered rotor (novak)?


Its gonna be happening soon, makin the jump to brushless. Cant wait hehe.
Syber Serulean is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True R/C Lipo bprc10T3 Electric Off-Road 10 03-26-2008 07:05 AM
to true or not to true tyres on club days ?? mrgsr Nitro On-Road 4 08-11-2005 06:11 AM
Is This True???????? Zac R Electric On-Road 24 03-24-2005 09:47 PM
Is this true? doublest Electric On-Road 7 05-14-2003 09:35 AM
Is this true ?????? Brett Australian Racing 9 07-14-2002 02:33 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:21 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net