GM Brushless

Reply

Old 12-28-2010, 04:15 PM
  #2221  
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
Me_MrTyson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,803
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

anyone tested Team Orion 4.5 or 5.5 with GM75?

running 12th scale wanting an idea on rollout?
Me_MrTyson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 07:44 AM
  #2222  
Tech Regular
 
ghiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 315
Default

Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
@ghiro:
BTW i suposed you got a GenII speedo.
Yes Jorge,it's a GenII esc . I've allready installed Bootcamp and Win7 on my MacBookPro . I 've also ordered the USBporgrammer and some motors to try the difference between the Graupner Speed and the GM Pro but these are out of stock for a while in the Graupner site, it'll take a while to get the whole order ready to be shiped. I'm still confused about wich programming card to get. . . i assume this is the right one: https://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/ser...I?ARTN=2894.12
ghiro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:28 AM
  #2223  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (141)
 
hacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Vic, Australia
Posts: 3,137
Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)
Default

https://shop.graupner.de/webuerp/servlet/AI?ARTN=7168.6
hacker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:32 AM
  #2224  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 559
Default

@ghiro - Like i said before i have zero experience with program cards, so i can't help you. Sorry. about the motors have you tried planet-rc? Or send an email to [email protected] i'm sure in less than a week he can help you.

Last edited by jorgesimes; 12-29-2010 at 10:44 AM.
jorgesimes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:07 AM
  #2225  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jeppi View Post
Hi everyone,

Martin says that the stock graupner motors give more power. Will they do well on 1/12 pancar 10.5T (indoor racing)?

Do usual GM racers go for the power of the graupner or the drivebality of the GM motors in that class?
Its best to have both. For different track layouts and grip level. For your driving style also.

For example 97290 has very smooth power, great top speed and low temps.
6564 has incredible acceleration and punch but harder to control temps/fading, in touring car.

I prefer the feel of the Graupner every time but often I am faster with the standard GM motor
hana166 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:32 AM
  #2226  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 596
Default

Originally Posted by hana166 View Post
Its best to have both. For different track layouts and grip level. For your driving style also.

For example 97290 has very smooth power, great top speed and low temps.
6564 has incredible acceleration and punch but harder to control temps/fading, in touring car.

I prefer the feel of the Graupner every time but often I am faster with the standard GM motor
It will always depend what's legal for your federation though if you're racing at a sanctioned event. The other thing is that the graupner motors are very torquey from my understanding, which seems to be the opposite way the 12th specific motors are heading (smaller rotors etc). I've yet to try a graupner motor in the 12th scale though, the GM one works just fine for a LOT of people at nationals.
chris_dono is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 04:25 PM
  #2227  
Tech Regular
 
ghiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 315
Default

Originally Posted by jorgesimes View Post
@ghiro - Like i said before i have zero experience with program cards, so i can't help you. Sorry. about the motors have you tried planet-rc? Or send an email to [email protected] i'm sure in less than a week he can help you.
Order done. I'm living in Switzerland and buying German stuff takes no more than 3 days to have it home,so i prefer to deal straight with the manufacturers online Shop. BTW just bought a 6564 ,USB and the programming card mentioned above. Thanks for your help again,i'll see what i can do with the card,i know this Esc is meaby the most complicated to set up so i'll take my time to understand it and waiting for the other motors to be in stock again,since then i hope that i will be able to get the most out of it . I'll use the G90 GenII for Pro10 13,5 and a second G90 GenII for Touring Stock 13.5 class, with this car i'll also use a 12TDelta i've and planning to get a GM Pro 9T Delta for training:any suggestion about wich programs i'm better start with?
ghiro is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:53 PM
  #2228  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 32
Default

Thanks hana and chris.

The torque may not suit very well the 12th car style. Still in open mod they use monster motors 4t or 3.5t and they still add some timing on them. Should this not mean that there is something to do with a more torquey motor?

I guess i'll continue with the SP V3 i have for now, those graupner are difficult to get here and much more expensive than the other motors.

Anyone has a setup for 12th car? I haven't run my GM esc yet. A few posts back there was one setup but on a 11.1 file (from the GM site). Can i still enter the data on the v13 firmware? Or are they not relevant for this firmware.

Or should i use the v13 made EZ guidelines. Someone said to lower the fixed timing in 1/12 compare to TC. I though it would be the opposit since the car is much lighter, and that i should instead lower the switch rpm to make up for the lower voltage.

Anyone has thoughts on that to help me out.
Jeppi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:30 PM
  #2229  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
hijinx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Bendigo
Posts: 1,356
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Hi there all, just wondering if the GM 13.5t motors work fine with a Tekin Pro esc, if so what is a good fdr for a Hotbodies TCX running rubber tyres on asphalt, any help will be awesome
Cheers
hijinx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2010, 02:49 AM
  #2230  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 559
Default

@ghiro - Try to follow this V13 How To , if you can't find a way in a few days i will be getting some training and i can give you some setups for TC 13,5.

@hijinx - Different ESC make a huge role in a fdr. I just have experience with GM ESC, try the Tekin thread, maybe someone could help you there. Sorry.
jorgesimes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 01:24 PM
  #2231  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 20
Default graupner sport 13.5 6564 versions ..update

Hello, I tested at 6.6 volt life (I hav no 7.4 battery at the moment...) and looked at the motor more in detail: it go ok and havo no hardware timing so there is no problem using high speed timing software, the motor pull strong and with 18 timing have very good high rpm power, about the stator coil, there is only different position of the front triangle where the coil wire is soldered, that is positioned casually unlike the newer motor but that make no difference I think...it may have a bit more coil wire. about the sensor position and magnet the motor have to be shimmed more in the front to take the rotor closer to the sensor as there is a bit of play that may alter the sensor reliability sometimes...that is corrected in the newer motor as it have no play and the sensor is closer to the rotor...apart from that performance should be the same...

regards and good 2011 to all...
chiottola is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2011, 10:57 PM
  #2232  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (2)
 
hana166's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 681
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Thanks I will order one now
hana166 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2011, 08:13 AM
  #2233  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 559
Default

Martin,

Can you tell me which fan do you use on your stock car
jorgesimes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 09:57 AM
  #2234  
Tech Regular
 
scoyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Northern Ireland
Posts: 465
Default

Is it possible to advance the physical timing on a GM97290 10.5T motor?
scoyle is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:36 AM
  #2235  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 559
Default

Yes it is. Although Martin as this to say about it:

Originally Posted by Martin Hofer View Post
DON'T change the motor timing. Just leave it in default setting.
jorgesimes is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service