Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Viper Dash ESC + LRP V10 Spec.4 10x2 Motor >

Viper Dash ESC + LRP V10 Spec.4 10x2 Motor

Viper Dash ESC + LRP V10 Spec.4 10x2 Motor

Old 05-04-2007, 03:16 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default Viper Dash ESC + LRP V10 Spec.4 10x2 Motor

Hi,

Can anyone help with this?

The instructions on the ESC tell that i have to put an 8A diode on my motor, but my motor instructions tell that the motor is ready to run, just Plug and Play!
What Should i do?
Is all this way? with other motors and other ESC i have to put some electric components for them to work? Where can i read about that?

Regards
Nuno
nmberga is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 03:54 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,009
Default

The diode is to protect the speed controller. It will work without but may damage the speed controller.
sosidge is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:25 AM
  #3  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Hum, ok.. but the Viper dash is already short circuit protected

Just one more question the ESC came with 3 electric components, what should i do with them?


Best regards
Nuno
nmberga is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 08:10 AM
  #4  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 4,009
Default

The diode has nothing to do with short circuit protection. It's to do with current coming back into the ESC.

And I'm sorry but I cannot see the pic. Your instruction manual should explain everything about correct wiring of the speed controller.
sosidge is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 10:22 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 104
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Same question

I had the same question. I just got this ESC because it was relatively cheap and hopefully better than the Duratrax ones that keep dieing on me. The diode is the little black piece with two things coming out each end. The Power cap and the 1100 cap are both capacitors. I found out you only need to put one on the ESC and if you go to the Mtroniks.net website and download the new instructions it tells you where to put it. Hope that helps.
cutwo is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.