Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Yokomo MR-4TC SD >

Yokomo MR-4TC SD

Yokomo MR-4TC SD

Reply

Old 08-16-2006, 04:45 PM
  #15391  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (32)
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,850
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pcar951
Thanks dude! Question is, can I find one? Is it a complete kit or just a chassis and stuff?
I think Speedtech and KT Hobbies both had them at one time.
Kevin K is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 05:49 AM
  #15392  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xxxkat
I tried using a Rayspeed chassis with LCG bulkheads and the stock LCG top deck
trying the same route since i busted my main chassis plate. But i'm trying to fit the entire drive train of the LCG on the Rayspeed... How did you get the steering to work? noticed that the servo mount is much farther back on the Rayspeed. could you post some pix?
VooDooPH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 04:27 PM
  #15393  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (38)
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,470
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by VooDooPH
trying the same route since i busted my main chassis plate. But i'm trying to fit the entire drive train of the LCG on the Rayspeed... How did you get the steering to work? noticed that the servo mount is much farther back on the Rayspeed. could you post some pix?
I drilled new holes in the Rayspeed chassis (used the LCG chassis as a guide) The only solution (really the quickest and I did not want to cut the ear off another servo) is to use the old style associated servo mounts as a spacer, I still used the stock LCG servo mount. It did work, It is a solid mount. I also used the stock LCG top deck. I think if you can find a TKE top deck the flex problem would be solved. I think a misunderstanding on the root of the problem is it's not really the chassis it's the 2 piece top deck. Replace this and a great deal of the flex would be gone. The BD does have some flex in the chassis but no where near the amount of flex that the LCG has. I do think that with the TKE top deck and the Rayspeed chassis you would have a good carpet car.
Oasis is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 08:35 PM
  #15394  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xxxkat
I do think that with the TKE top deck and the Rayspeed chassis you would have a good carpet car.
the tke car has the motor mount moved up 5-6mm to give more space between the spur and the mount so that the top deck web between them could be beefy. it also had the bellcranks moved up and out for less ackermann. in short, you have to run the whole kramer conversion.

- freddy beauregard -
seaball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:21 PM
  #15395  
Team EAM
iTrader: (79)
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,359
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by seaball
the tke car has the motor mount moved up 5-6mm to give more space between the spur and the mount so that the top deck web between them could be beefy. it also had the bellcranks moved up and out for less ackermann. in short, you have to run the whole kramer conversion.

- freddy beauregard -
Whens the TKE Kyosho come out?

EA
EAMotorsports is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:41 PM
  #15396  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (22)
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,753
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

That has to be why the TKE is getting so hard to find. Is it discontinued? Did Tommy switch?
robk is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 10:59 AM
  #15397  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
seaball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,304
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

i think kramer is still with yokomo. i did hear the rumor that he was looking but i don't think he went.

maybe bmi will continue where yokomo left off. the tke car is definitely the next level in shaft cars. not sure why there are so few.
seaball is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 12:53 PM
  #15398  
Tech Addict
 
chubbspeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ridgemont
Posts: 518
Cool Interesting........

I read in one of the British mags a week or two ago that he is still running the yokomo, I also hear that there is a yokomo TKE car going to vegas this year.....could be good!

on that Schumacher pitspace site there is some pic's as well, look under the "Summer Sizzler" race section.

-Jeff Specoli-

as far as more info on the TKE car...contact yokomo

Last edited by chubbspeterson; 08-19-2006 at 03:29 PM.
chubbspeterson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 02:33 AM
  #15399  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (18)
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xxxkat
I drilled new holes in the Rayspeed chassis (used the LCG chassis as a guide) The only solution (really the quickest and I did not want to cut the ear off another servo) is to use the old style associated servo mounts as a spacer, I still used the stock LCG servo mount. It did work, It is a solid mount. I also used the stock LCG top deck. I think if you can find a TKE top deck the flex problem would be solved. I think a misunderstanding on the root of the problem is it's not really the chassis it's the 2 piece top deck. Replace this and a great deal of the flex would be gone. The BD does have some flex in the chassis but no where near the amount of flex that the LCG has. I do think that with the TKE top deck and the Rayspeed chassis you would have a good carpet car.

Thanks for this! not really familiar with how the old style associated servo mount looks but so far i think i was able to to work the servo without having to add spacers. just used a futaba servo saver (the one with 3 holes) and mounted the servo arm to the hole closest to the steering plate. thanks for the help though! much appreciated. just wonder how the car will run now.

unfortunatly, there are no carpet races back here... all are on asphalt so i still need a bit of flex in the car (the rayspeed is considerably thicker than the lcg already).
VooDooPH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:02 PM
  #15400  
Tech Regular
 
ATLAS COPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud 69
Posts: 468
Default 4200 in stock sd

Hi guys i seem to be having trouble getting my 4200 cells into my stock sd chassis , i have thought of some BD battery holders but im not sure if it could be done
any help would be appreciated and if you have pictures that would also be a help
ATLAS COPCO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:16 PM
  #15401  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,900
Default

Originally Posted by ATLAS COPCO
Hi guys i seem to be having trouble getting my 4200 cells into my stock sd chassis , i have thought of some BD battery holders but im not sure if it could be done
any help would be appreciated and if you have pictures that would also be a help
I got IB4200's in my SD fine, a really nice fit. Do your cells have an extra layer of shrink?
sosidge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:50 PM
  #15402  
Tech Regular
 
ATLAS COPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud 69
Posts: 468
Default

Originally Posted by sosidge
I got IB4200's in my SD fine, a really nice fit. Do your cells have an extra layer of shrink?
Yes they do , i thought that may have been my problem
What do you think about the bd carriers
ATLAS COPCO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:57 PM
  #15403  
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,900
Default

I think you would create yourself a huge amount of hassle to try and fit them with no real advantage.
sosidge is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 03:07 PM
  #15404  
Tech Regular
 
ATLAS COPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud 69
Posts: 468
Default

Originally Posted by sosidge
I think you would create yourself a huge amount of hassle to try and fit them with no real advantage.
Point taken thanks for your comments
ATLAS COPCO is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 03:35 PM
  #15405  
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Originally Posted by ATLAS COPCO
Point taken thanks for your comments
Yo Simon se you got a pot yesterday you sandbagger
Malc TCCFM
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline  
Reply With Quote

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service