R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-16-2006, 04:45 PM   #15391
Tech Champion
 
Kevin K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: In a land of mini-mighty mental giants
Posts: 8,833
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Kevin K Send a message via Yahoo to Kevin K
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcar951
Thanks dude! Question is, can I find one? Is it a complete kit or just a chassis and stuff?
I think Speedtech and KT Hobbies both had them at one time.
__________________
2013 USVTA World Champion of the World
MOTIV RC presents the Midwest All-Star Carpet Series....15th year running 2017/18!!!
USVTA National Championship....check it out!!!
Im only responsible for what I say NOT what you understand.
Kevin K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 05:49 AM   #15392
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxkat
I tried using a Rayspeed chassis with LCG bulkheads and the stock LCG top deck
trying the same route since i busted my main chassis plate. But i'm trying to fit the entire drive train of the LCG on the Rayspeed... How did you get the steering to work? noticed that the servo mount is much farther back on the Rayspeed. could you post some pix?
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 04:27 PM   #15393
Tech Lord
 
Oasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: * Sin Cal *
Posts: 10,336
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VooDooPH
trying the same route since i busted my main chassis plate. But i'm trying to fit the entire drive train of the LCG on the Rayspeed... How did you get the steering to work? noticed that the servo mount is much farther back on the Rayspeed. could you post some pix?
I drilled new holes in the Rayspeed chassis (used the LCG chassis as a guide) The only solution (really the quickest and I did not want to cut the ear off another servo) is to use the old style associated servo mounts as a spacer, I still used the stock LCG servo mount. It did work, It is a solid mount. I also used the stock LCG top deck. I think if you can find a TKE top deck the flex problem would be solved. I think a misunderstanding on the root of the problem is it's not really the chassis it's the 2 piece top deck. Replace this and a great deal of the flex would be gone. The BD does have some flex in the chassis but no where near the amount of flex that the LCG has. I do think that with the TKE top deck and the Rayspeed chassis you would have a good carpet car.
Oasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 08:35 PM   #15394
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxkat
I do think that with the TKE top deck and the Rayspeed chassis you would have a good carpet car.
the tke car has the motor mount moved up 5-6mm to give more space between the spur and the mount so that the top deck web between them could be beefy. it also had the bellcranks moved up and out for less ackermann. in short, you have to run the whole kramer conversion.

- freddy beauregard -
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:21 PM   #15395
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by seaball
the tke car has the motor mount moved up 5-6mm to give more space between the spur and the mount so that the top deck web between them could be beefy. it also had the bellcranks moved up and out for less ackermann. in short, you have to run the whole kramer conversion.

- freddy beauregard -
Whens the TKE Kyosho come out?

EA
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 09:41 PM   #15396
Tech Champion
 
robk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Macho Business Donkey Wrestler
Posts: 7,588
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

That has to be why the TKE is getting so hard to find. Is it discontinued? Did Tommy switch?
__________________
A mutually re-enforcing cascade of failure

"Failior [sic] crowns enterprise." Robert Goddard

I-Lap Scoring Systems http://www.rclapcounter.com/
robk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 10:59 AM   #15397
Tech Elite
 
seaball's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 4,303
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to seaball
Default

i think kramer is still with yokomo. i did hear the rumor that he was looking but i don't think he went.

maybe bmi will continue where yokomo left off. the tke car is definitely the next level in shaft cars. not sure why there are so few.
__________________
*** The Gate II - Home of Mike Wise ***
seaball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2006, 12:53 PM   #15398
Tech Addict
 
chubbspeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Ridgemont
Posts: 518
Cool Interesting........

I read in one of the British mags a week or two ago that he is still running the yokomo, I also hear that there is a yokomo TKE car going to vegas this year.....could be good!

on that Schumacher pitspace site there is some pic's as well, look under the "Summer Sizzler" race section.

-Jeff Specoli-

as far as more info on the TKE car...contact yokomo
__________________
Mike Demone
7-Eleven, National Accounts Manager
Ridgemont, CA, 90026
"I vowed to never let this happen.."

Last edited by chubbspeterson; 08-19-2006 at 03:29 PM.
chubbspeterson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 02:33 AM   #15399
Tech Elite
 
VooDooPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Philippines
Posts: 3,715
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to VooDooPH
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxxkat
I drilled new holes in the Rayspeed chassis (used the LCG chassis as a guide) The only solution (really the quickest and I did not want to cut the ear off another servo) is to use the old style associated servo mounts as a spacer, I still used the stock LCG servo mount. It did work, It is a solid mount. I also used the stock LCG top deck. I think if you can find a TKE top deck the flex problem would be solved. I think a misunderstanding on the root of the problem is it's not really the chassis it's the 2 piece top deck. Replace this and a great deal of the flex would be gone. The BD does have some flex in the chassis but no where near the amount of flex that the LCG has. I do think that with the TKE top deck and the Rayspeed chassis you would have a good carpet car.

Thanks for this! not really familiar with how the old style associated servo mount looks but so far i think i was able to to work the servo without having to add spacers. just used a futaba servo saver (the one with 3 holes) and mounted the servo arm to the hole closest to the steering plate. thanks for the help though! much appreciated. just wonder how the car will run now.

unfortunatly, there are no carpet races back here... all are on asphalt so i still need a bit of flex in the car (the rayspeed is considerably thicker than the lcg already).
__________________
[TRF418][TB-04Pro][FF-03Pro][M-05v2][TRF102][F-104 WGP][TT-01R TypeE]
[Cross CF-01'08][Yokomo R12][Team C TC02Evo][Team C T8E v3]
VooDooPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:02 PM   #15400
Tech Regular
 
ATLAS COPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud 69
Posts: 468
Default 4200 in stock sd

Hi guys i seem to be having trouble getting my 4200 cells into my stock sd chassis , i have thought of some BD battery holders but im not sure if it could be done
any help would be appreciated and if you have pictures that would also be a help
ATLAS COPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:16 PM   #15401
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLAS COPCO
Hi guys i seem to be having trouble getting my 4200 cells into my stock sd chassis , i have thought of some BD battery holders but im not sure if it could be done
any help would be appreciated and if you have pictures that would also be a help
I got IB4200's in my SD fine, a really nice fit. Do your cells have an extra layer of shrink?
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:50 PM   #15402
Tech Regular
 
ATLAS COPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud 69
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge
I got IB4200's in my SD fine, a really nice fit. Do your cells have an extra layer of shrink?
Yes they do , i thought that may have been my problem
What do you think about the bd carriers
ATLAS COPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 02:57 PM   #15403
Tech Elite
 
sosidge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 3,865
Default

I think you would create yourself a huge amount of hassle to try and fit them with no real advantage.
sosidge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 03:07 PM   #15404
Tech Regular
 
ATLAS COPCO's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cloud 69
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sosidge
I think you would create yourself a huge amount of hassle to try and fit them with no real advantage.
Point taken thanks for your comments
ATLAS COPCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2006, 03:35 PM   #15405
Tech Master
 
TheCoolCanFanMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Watford
Posts: 1,738
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ATLAS COPCO
Point taken thanks for your comments
Yo Simon se you got a pot yesterday you sandbagger
Malc TCCFM
__________________
ARC 2013 model ZEN Racing, MM-UK, HW 3.1, Rich Paints, MM UK Rug Racers win13.5 2007/8
2nd in 2008/9/10 Win Ansman GP 2010 Schumacher GP. 17.5 blinky Winner of STCC 2009/10 13.5 WLRC 2010 Summer series. Winner of EWS Winter. 17.5 Blinky Winner of 2012/13/14 Rug Racers. 17.5 Blinky 2013 WLRC summer series. Newbury RCC GP 2014 17.5 Blinky 2015 3rd in 17.5 Rug Racers
TheCoolCanFanMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
yokomo or yokomo parts yokomo7 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 4 12-19-2009 08:45 PM
Yokomo is coming out with a new version of the bd : Yokomo BD 2 roadrashracing Electric On-Road 12 12-19-2007 07:08 AM
yokomo Aluminum Steering Bellcrank Posts and other yokomo spares hurley081182 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 02-27-2006 06:07 PM
Lots FS: CRC 3.2 & Yokomo YRX-12, Yokomo TC Tires, JR Receivers, New Motors, more TurboFC3S R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 09-22-2005 09:38 PM
WTB Yokomo 1/12 Mini...Trade for 1/10 Yokomo dynamic_e R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 07-12-2003 05:58 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:59 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net