Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Team Orion 3200mAh Race Spec LiPo >

Team Orion 3200mAh Race Spec LiPo

Team Orion 3200mAh Race Spec LiPo

Reply

Old 04-06-2007, 10:43 AM
  #1081  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,942
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

syndr0me

NoVAK IS listening. We are working with Charlie and the NoVAK crew doing our testing...and they have been awesome to work with.

We've been testing on both the West Coast and back east, so different racer input can be derrived.
SWTour is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 11:49 AM
  #1082  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (8)
 
414MPH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 987
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Diha, My experience has been quite different than yours. How did you measure the voltage? I am not familiar with your charger, but my Orion charger always charges em up to 8.39. I've got a few dozen cycles on them and have not noticed any deterioration.

MPH
414MPH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 01:00 PM
  #1083  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (32)
 
syndr0me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: 5280 Raceway
Posts: 13,207
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SWTour
syndr0me

NoVAK IS listening. We are working with Charlie and the NoVAK crew doing our testing...and they have been awesome to work with.

We've been testing on both the West Coast and back east, so different racer input can be derrived.
Oh cool, that's good to hear! It sounds like what we really need is a quality 5V cell. I heard recently that A123 might be too busy to both with it any further. :-(
syndr0me is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:21 PM
  #1084  
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

Originally Posted by diha
HI all,

Today, I tried my 1st 3200 lipo on my mini & I realised that the voltage drops with every re-charged. Is it normal? Can someone explain why.
What should I do gain back the voltage?

Initial charged: 8.4V; Run: 10 mins
2nd charged: 8.4V; Run: 10 mins
3rd charged: 8.22V; Run: 10 mins
4th charged: 7.98V; Run 10 mins.

I am using a Supernova Competition charger with contant current & contant voltage charge.

Thanks.
It sounds like you have a cell out of balance. or their is an issue going on with your charger.

First I would check to see if both cells are showing the same voltage ( it has been explained several times in this thread how to do this) then if they are not matching votage I would try to balance the pack.

If balancing does not help then I would send your battery into the manufactuers for review.
MrBlack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 02:27 PM
  #1085  
Tech Addict
 
MrBlack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OC
Posts: 746
Default

Originally Posted by SWTour
syndr0me

NoVAK IS listening. We are working with Charlie and the NoVAK crew doing our testing...and they have been awesome to work with.

We've been testing on both the West Coast and back east, so different racer input can be derrived.
Have you considerd running 380 sized brushless motors with 7.4V Lipo?
MrBlack is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:22 PM
  #1086  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,942
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

MrBlack,

We never really considered that a viable option. We're hoping when we have full test results on what we are playing with the motor of choice will become (much like the 19t did) a cross over between ALL electric racing, On-Road, Off-Road and Paved Oval.
SWTour is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 03:40 PM
  #1087  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (202)
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: St Louis
Posts: 8,144
Trader Rating: 202 (100%+)
Default

Is the multiplex LN-5014 the same as the Orion?
dodgeguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 05:02 PM
  #1088  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

does any know how to fix my orion lipo pack recently i make a mistake by plug in wrong polarity to my lipo pack and after i put it back correct polarity it doesn't work and not able to let you charge the lipo cell. what wrong with my lipo pack? thanks
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 05:14 PM
  #1089  
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

Originally Posted by Guo Chean
does any know how to fix my orion lipo pack recently i make a mistake by plug in wrong polarity to my lipo pack and after i put it back correct polarity it doesn't work and not able to let you charge the lipo cell. what wrong with my lipo pack? thanks

If you plugged a battery backwards into your charger; you more likely burn the fuse in the charger than actually damaging the battery. And if it's a crappy charger; you might even burn the charger! Some have reverse polarity protection.

If you plugged a battery backwards in a speedo; you can burn it out! Some might have protection but I don't think a lot of the highend ones did..
TEM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 05:22 PM
  #1090  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TEM
If you plugged a battery backwards into your charger; you more likely burn the fuse in the charger than actually damaging the battery. And if it's a crappy charger; you might even burn the charger! Some have reverse polarity protection.

If you plugged a battery backwards in a speedo; you can burn it out! Some might have protection but I don't think a lot of the highend ones did..
you mean my lipo pack gone already?
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 05:43 PM
  #1091  
TEM
Tech Regular
 
TEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 253
Default

No, I mean you can burn out a speedo, burn a charger or the fuse on the charger. It's unlikely your Lipo gets burned that way.
TEM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:14 PM
  #1092  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 268
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Guo Chean
does any know how to fix my orion lipo pack recently i make a mistake by plug in wrong polarity to my lipo pack and after i put it back correct polarity it doesn't work and not able to let you charge the lipo cell. what wrong with my lipo pack? thanks
I recently did the same thing. There is a fuse on the negative side of the lipo battery joining the 2 cells. This fuse is designed to blow in a milli-second in the event that you reverse the polarity. I did its job very well. There was no damage to my GTB ESC or to the Orion charger. The bad news is that the battery cannot be opened and repaired. I contacted Novak and they said that the burned fuse cannot be replaced. They did offer me a one-time battery replacement at cost ($65).

I now take an extra moment to ensure that the battery polarity is correct. I use Deans plugs and will always plug the female side into the battery before connecting it to the ESC. This gives me one last chance to make sure that I didn't have momentary brain-fade. This is a hard lesson-learned and hopefully will not happen to you again.

Pete
Pete Thomas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:16 PM
  #1093  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
Guo Chean's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Indiana, PA15701
Posts: 1,492
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TEM
No, I mean you can burn out a speedo, burn a charger or the fuse on the charger. It's unlikely your Lipo gets burned that way.
i try to open the carbon case it seem that one of the lipo cell connected tab was break and i just fix it with another wire it works but dunno whether it would works in future.
Guo Chean is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:26 PM
  #1094  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 268
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Guo Chean
i try to open the carbon case it seem that one of the lipo cell connected tab was break and i just fix it with another wire it works but dunno whether it would works in future.
That break that you saw in the tab was the fuse. It is my personal opinion that it is not worth risking a potential fire by trying to repair the battery. If Orion doesn't recommend replacing the fuse for safety reasons, I must respect their recommendation. Spending $65 on a replacement battery is worth not potentially losing your car, your home, or worse.

Pete

PS In my previous response, I mentioned that I contacted Novak. I meant to say Team Orion.
Pete Thomas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2007, 06:27 PM
  #1095  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
SWTour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Central Coast...CALIF.
Posts: 2,942
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Pete Thomas,

Was that a Peak/Orion 3200 battery that blew a fuse?

If so, why would you call Novak to find out about repairs? LOL you already corrected yourself...

This will be something we'll have to advise about and be very careful with, but the rules we are working on will NOT allow ANY Battery to be run if the Plastic case is DAMAGED or has been TAMPERED WITH.
SWTour is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service