R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-17-2006, 09:18 AM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 967
Default Wires!!!

As we all know, in RC racing resistance is a crucial matter.

To lower the amount of resistance, one can get thicker wires with more strands in them. This can range from 12-16 gauge with pure copper in them.

Besides copper wires, is there any other wire that is better than the common copper wire we used in RC racing today???
Tpg racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 09:27 AM   #2
Tech Champion
 
stiltskin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 5,368
Trader Rating: 102 (100%+)
Default

I'm not an electrician, but I have heard that we get better wire than most electricians use in standard business.
A little off topic here but you brought up the size of the wire and resistance. I've heard that the larger wire requires more "soak" which could actually decrease performance. Is the resistance that may be saved equal or greater to the weight difference and soak of the larger wire. I know that this is all very minimal, so my point is, does any of it REALLY matter?
__________________
Tony Rumple
Team EAM // Gravity RC
stiltskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 09:42 AM   #3
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

well. don t use tamiya style plugs, they have like 1. something olms of resitance, deans are wayy less, and ill ask my dad about this when i call him tonight, he does Med. Voltage. like running into the gatoraid factory in AZ for example.
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:14 AM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

copper is probably the best, most practicle wire for r/c. though, wire choice has little effect on performance. connector choice has an effect on resistance. get some deans connectorsfor the batteries, and motors. they wont resist power like tamiya connectors do.

i'll do some research and see about resistance of electrician wire, and r/c wire..
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:27 AM   #5
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

gold is the best, i do belive, but whos going to play alll that money for gold wires?
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:35 AM   #6
Tech Fanatic
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

...

Last edited by Johnathan; 06-17-2006 at 11:23 AM. Reason: wrong info...
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:37 AM   #7
Tech Fanatic
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedudeaturdoor
gold is the best, i do belive, but whos going to play alll that money for gold wires?
gold does conduct better... but yeah... its expensive... lol that would add some value to your car! lol
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 10:48 AM   #8
Super Moderator
 
Grizzbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Sand Springs, OK
Posts: 3,063
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnathan
gold does conduct better... but yeah... its expensive... lol that would add some value to your car! lol
Actually no, gold does NOT conduct better than copper, but it's not far off, & it does have FAR superior corrosion protection(& THAT'S why the military likes to use a lot of gold in their electrical connections). The only substance that conducts better than copper is silver, but it's as easy to corrode as copper & is also prohibitively expensive to make into wire(plus, I don't think it's as flexible, so if it were made into wire, it'd be hard for us to use). That's why silver is good for connectors(because it can allow a connector to have as good or even lower resistance as the wire it's installed on).....
__________________
Bob Seay
Tamiya TRF417, TA05v.2, TRF211XM, M-05ver.2R, XRAY X12, Associated B5m Factory Lite

Go Pokes!!!
Grizzbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 11:12 AM   #9
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnathan
ok, i did some research. i compared electrician wire with our hobby wire. with a 2 1/4 inch sections, i found that BOTH wires had .9 ohms of resistance. that is very little. i dont see why you would want any wire with less resistance, unless you have 10 feet of wire.... or something ccrazy like that.

i also measured two connectors. deans, and tamiya. deans had .6 ohms resistance, while tamiya had 1.5 ohms. LOL!

now, these are just some quickly gathered facts from my garage, a 500$ electrical meter, 16 awg wires, etc. results will vary if you actually try this at home, this is just to give an idea of resistance in r/c.
Johnathan, did you zero your ohmeter before testing those connectors? Try touching the two leads of the meter together to ensure they read 0 before testing such small resistances. 1.5 ohms sounds like a lot. I think that is a mistaken reading.

Ohms law.

I=E/R

or Current equals voltage divided by resistance

So with a 7.2 volt battery dead shorting into a 1.5 ohm load, you would only get approx 5 amps maximum current flow. With the reading you took of the Dean's connector, you would only get 12 amps flowing thru a dead short with that connector. That reading can't be right. The resistance of the Deans connector would prevent your motor from drawing more than 12 amps. We know a Deans connector can easily flow 30 amps without even getting hot.

I just tested a Deans with a digital meter and find that its less than 0.1 ohm. Can't even get a reading different from touching the two leads together, which is what you need to do before testing low resistance values.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 11:23 AM   #10
Tech Fanatic
 
Johnathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Texas!
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iceracer
Johnathan, did you zero your ohmeter before testing those connectors? Try touching the two leads of the meter together to ensure they read 0 before testing such small resistances. 1.5 ohms sounds like a lot. I think that is a mistaken reading.

Ohms law.

I=E/R

or Current equals voltage divided by resistance

So with a 7.2 volt battery dead shorting into a 1.5 ohm load, you would only get approx 5 amps maximum current flow. With the reading you took of the Dean's connector, you would only get 12 amps flowing thru a dead short with that connector. That reading can't be right. The resistance of the Deans connector would prevent your motor from drawing more than 12 amps. We know a Deans connector can easily flow 30 amps without even getting hot.

I just tested a Deans with a digital meter and find that its less than 0.1 ohm. Can't even get a reading different from touching the two leads together, which is what you need to do before testing low resistance values.
sorry, iwas wrong, just woke up then...
Johnathan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 12:07 PM   #11
Tech Fanatic
 
Tpg racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 967
Default

How about using audio wires????

They looks thick and obviously audio systems draw a lot of amp.
Tpg racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 12:09 PM   #12
Tech Adept
 
Hollowman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Holland,Rotterdam
Posts: 127
Send a message via MSN to Hollowman
Default

And what a bout fiber optic kabels ?
Hollowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 02:00 PM   #13
Tech Addict
 
Iceracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 656
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think RC motor cables are a little overpriced, but then again its hard to find sources for an alternative. Any multistranded wire of proper gauge should work fine, but we are hard on our wires, handling them often. A fine multistrand with soft, high temperature insulation is just going to last longer and stand up to more abuse. Welders cabling is ideal, but I don't know if they make small enough gauge.
Iceracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 02:24 PM   #14
Tech Regular
 
thedudeaturdoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: the 8-0-4! aka the RVA!
Posts: 414
Send a message via AIM to thedudeaturdoor
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollowman
And what a bout fiber optic kabels ?
they carry pules from what i understand, and are wayyyy to much for r/c to even be worth it

from what i understand
thedudeaturdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 03:15 PM   #15
Tech Master
 
Speed Demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ROCK GARDEN
Posts: 1,053
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollowman
And what a bout fiber optic kabels ?
Fiber Optic does not carry electric current.
__________________
CUSTOM CRAWLER & ROCK STACKER
Speed Demon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing wires on LRP v7.1? SammyZ Radio and Electronics 2 08-25-2008 06:56 PM
AMB PT - New Wires? jsmax Electric Off-Road 1 04-06-2007 09:33 PM
servo wires? spiderman-49 Rookie Zone 5 11-01-2006 04:21 PM
Soldering ESC wires Michael Barch Electric On-Road 4 03-03-2006 12:45 PM
REciever wires HELP Got Xray? Rookie Zone 6 02-03-2006 02:05 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:58 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net