R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Electric On-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road-2/)
-   -   Wires!!! (https://www.rctech.net/forum/electric-road/118175-wires.html)

Tpg racer 06-17-2006 08:18 AM

Wires!!!

As we all know, in RC racing resistance is a crucial matter.

To lower the amount of resistance, one can get thicker wires with more strands in them. This can range from 12-16 gauge with pure copper in them.

Besides copper wires, is there any other wire that is better than the common copper wire we used in RC racing today???

stiltskin 06-17-2006 08:27 AM

I'm not an electrician, but I have heard that we get better wire than most electricians use in standard business.
A little off topic here but you brought up the size of the wire and resistance. I've heard that the larger wire requires more "soak" which could actually decrease performance. Is the resistance that may be saved equal or greater to the weight difference and soak of the larger wire. I know that this is all very minimal, so my point is, does any of it REALLY matter?

thedudeaturdoor 06-17-2006 08:42 AM

well. don t use tamiya style plugs, they have like 1. something olms of resitance, deans are wayy less, and ill ask my dad about this when i call him tonight, he does Med. Voltage. like running into the gatoraid factory in AZ for example.

Johnathan 06-17-2006 09:14 AM

copper is probably the best, most practicle wire for r/c. though, wire choice has little effect on performance. connector choice has an effect on resistance. get some deans connectorsfor the batteries, and motors. they wont resist power like tamiya connectors do.

i'll do some research and see about resistance of electrician wire, and r/c wire..

thedudeaturdoor 06-17-2006 09:27 AM

gold is the best, i do belive, but whos going to play alll that money for gold wires?

Johnathan 06-17-2006 09:35 AM

Johnathan 06-17-2006 09:37 AM

Originally Posted by thedudeaturdoor