• 1 Post By silden
  • 1 Post By Dan
  • 2 Post By belewis01
  • 2 Post By IndyRC_Racer

When to replace pan car springs?

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2023, 06:00 PM
Tech Initiate

Default When to replace pan car springs?

I'm new to pan cars and bought a used CRC 1/10 for wgtr. How do you know when the front and rear side springs need replacing?
Old 11-28-2023, 08:50 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

They should not wear out so the only time to replace them is when you want to try a different spring rate.
Old 11-28-2023, 09:59 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

I had a fair amount of collapsed pan car springs.
I would recommend to replace them when they are 1mm different in height(left to right). replace always both springs
glennhl likes this.
Old 11-28-2023, 10:26 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)

Originally Posted by silden
I had a fair amount of collapsed pan car springs.
I would recommend to replace them when they are 1mm different in height(left to right). replace always both springs
These springs should be designed to not collapse, sounds like they weren't heat treated properly. Or even worse, didn't use a spring steel and opted for cheap low carbon steel. But you make an excellent point, if they collapse so that one spring is shorter than the other, then you should replace them both. Thanks.
Old 11-28-2023, 10:37 AM
Dan
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)

Really soft springs collapse more than really stiff springs, especially when new and then putting some packs thru them (especially when you have heavy rubber tires for WGTR/F1). It happens to my CRC and Xray front springs. Remember it impacts droop too.
silden likes this.
Old 11-28-2023, 01:36 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)

I have never seen a rear side spring wear out. Softer fronts will collapse on some brands (i.e. older associated style springs 0.18 and lower). You'll know because one will be shorter than the other - time to toss them both.