Search

Team Durango re-focus on local club racing

Search this Thread

Old 11-03-2014, 04:44 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Team Durango re-focus on local club racing

http://www.redrc.net/2014/11/team-du...ng/#more-88392

Hmmm.... not sure I'm in agreement with this. As a hobbyist, I like to take pride in stating that the car I own is driven by so and so and is winning this and that race. After all, we are racing and we want the bragging rights. i'm very curious as to how Durango believes that they can actually reach more customers by improving their local scene. Sounds good on paper, but I'd like to know how they actually implement it. Otherwise, it just sounds like all talk to me. The proof will be in the pudding...
Old 11-03-2014, 04:53 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)

It's Hobbico's decision which owns Durango. Hobbico has always believed in the local hobbyist and club level racer. If it's a good decision or bad decision, only time will tell.
Old 11-03-2014, 05:01 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I think it's a great idea. The one thing they need to improve, which they did mention, is parts availability. It hasn't been all that great. I don't care about "pros" or large race results. They just don't matter. Most cars today are each other's equivalent in performance and the guys that consistently win could do so with any car. Paying people to drive for you is also a big expense. Why do people support one particular vehicle based on a result when that driver is paid to represent it? Especially in a time where drivers leave teams for competitors. How are people not seeing through this? I'd rather see a company spend more time making more individual racers happy rather than one or two paid pro drivers just for the sake of getting a result in a magazine. The product doesn't change either way.
Old 11-03-2014, 05:10 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)