Search
Like Tree66Likes

Hot Bodies D413 1/10 4WD Buggy

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2015, 09:00 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 53 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Chr1s
So I've been running the car for a few months and I thought would post my thoughts on avid vs stock chassis.

I ran the stock chassis for about about 2-3 months, then ran the avid for about 1.5 months. Got the car setup about as good as i could with both chassis and here's what I found.

I've found that the stock chassis allows me to carry more corner speed, accelerates faster, lands better, and has more traction(which I attribute to flex).

The avid chassis seems to mellow out the steering, and overall makes the car easier to drive but it's slower on primary track I run on. Where the avid chassis seemed to show promise was on a high grip bumpy surface where you need something that's very consistent.

I would not say this chassis is a must buy, and it might make you slower if you don't run on super high grip. I'm back to the stock chassis simply because my lap times are faster.
I found the same results. No matter what I changed, I couldn't get the same response/feel and lap times as the stock ccarbon chassis. I ended up taking the avid chassis off after 2 weeks of testing.
Old 01-25-2015, 09:27 PM
R/C Tech Elite Member

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)

I ordered some Serpent sway bars and bent/cut them to fit my car yesterday. Had our first actual race at a new indoor carpet track today and it was a disaster. The car was traction rolling like crazy compared to practice last week where I ran the stock black sway bars.

I didn't get the new ones bent just right and couldn't fit the inside collars on the rear bar but told myself it would be OK. I think there was way too much slack before the bars started to have an effect then all the sudden the big sway bars would kick in and actually cause the traction roll by abruptly stopping the body roll.