R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-27-2013, 10:00 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 112 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to wstuart
Default 17.5 NT in a ST too much for 60amp ESC?

I just got a 60 amp hobbywing esc and Losi 22t. The truck seems kind of heavy so I was wondering if it would be too much for a 60 amp esc.
__________________
Yokomo Yz-2 x2
Yokomo B-max4iii
Awesomatix a700 evo
Team El Cajon Hobbies
wstuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:04 PM   #2
Tech Adept
 
drolmaeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Willowbrook, IL
Posts: 242
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well, I've never run Hobbywing so hopefully someone will drop by to reinforce what I have to say but, no way. 17.5 NT in you ST is definitely not too much for a 60 AMP ESC.
__________________
AE FT SC10 - Speed Passion Reventon R - RevTech 17.5
AE FT SC10 4x4 - Novak Havoc Pro SC - Ballistic 4.5
Leisure Hours Hobbies & Raceway
drolmaeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:06 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
joelwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by drolmaeye View Post
Well, I've never run Hobbywing so hopefully someone will drop by to reinforce what I have to say but, no way. 17.5 NT in you ST is definitely not too much for a 60 AMP ESC.
No worries at all. Ive been running stock stadium truck with a Juststock 45a and it does just fine. You will be good to go.
__________________
HEART OF A HUSTLER RACING TEAM

Trick Graphics--see spdrac430 on this forum for all your painting needs

Team Pit Racers-Fastest Guys In The Pits!
joelwhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:07 PM   #4
Tech Addict
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 726
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

have been racing a Hobbywing 60A in SC and T4.1 with an 8.5 both with ezrun and xerun for the last year.
__________________
-Dangerous with power tools-
gacjr0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:09 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 112 (98%+)
Send a message via AIM to wstuart
Default

wow that was a quick and decisive answer - thanks guys!
__________________
Yokomo Yz-2 x2
Yokomo B-max4iii
Awesomatix a700 evo
Team El Cajon Hobbies
wstuart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:10 PM   #6
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 378
Default

You are all good. For safe sake I try to double my esc amperage rating to my motor max amp draw, but it isnt nec to do this. For me my Trakpower max is 28 amps(pretty close for most 17.5's) so your 60amp esc will be just fine. You really need to be careful when you run 4x4 shortcourse since those beast's draw alot due to the monster motors. You would be fine with their 35 amp unit too, just run a bit warmer and be at the edge of it's capabilities.
bambambennett is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:27 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net