Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
17.5 NT in a ST too much for 60amp ESC? > 17.5 NT in a ST too much for 60amp ESC?

17.5 NT in a ST too much for 60amp ESC?

Reply

Old 01-27-2013, 09:00 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (112)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 112 (98%+)
Default 17.5 NT in a ST too much for 60amp ESC?

I just got a 60 amp hobbywing esc and Losi 22t. The truck seems kind of heavy so I was wondering if it would be too much for a 60 amp esc.
wstuart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:04 PM
  #2  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (6)
 
drolmaeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Willowbrook, IL
Posts: 242
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Well, I've never run Hobbywing so hopefully someone will drop by to reinforce what I have to say but, no way. 17.5 NT in you ST is definitely not too much for a 60 AMP ESC.
drolmaeye is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:06 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
joelwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by drolmaeye View Post
Well, I've never run Hobbywing so hopefully someone will drop by to reinforce what I have to say but, no way. 17.5 NT in you ST is definitely not too much for a 60 AMP ESC.
No worries at all. Ive been running stock stadium truck with a Juststock 45a and it does just fine. You will be good to go.
joelwhite is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:07 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 737
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

have been racing a Hobbywing 60A in SC and T4.1 with an 8.5 both with ezrun and xerun for the last year.
gacjr0 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:09 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (112)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,001
Trader Rating: 112 (98%+)
Default

wow that was a quick and decisive answer - thanks guys!
wstuart is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 09:10 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 378
Default

You are all good. For safe sake I try to double my esc amperage rating to my motor max amp draw, but it isnt nec to do this. For me my Trakpower max is 28 amps(pretty close for most 17.5's) so your 60amp esc will be just fine. You really need to be careful when you run 4x4 shortcourse since those beast's draw alot due to the monster motors. You would be fine with their 35 amp unit too, just run a bit warmer and be at the edge of it's capabilities.
bambambennett is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service