Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 05-11-2011, 10:14 PM
  #9286  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silversam View Post
What 8ight-e said.....
I have a Tenshock 4000kv and it's an awesome motor,
but I also have a Castle 1410 and thats what I run in my SCTE.
Thanks again for towers...needed them at race when rear bent. LOL
About to buy 1410...what gearing is the best on 2s, outdoor 1/8 track, also indoor clay?
larlev is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:18 PM
  #9287  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

well damn i might just have to get myself one of these bad as 1410 motors every one loves jut for a back up. running the novak 550 4.5 with the havok pro esc...any know if that esc would support the 1410?
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:29 PM
  #9288  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (33)
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 341
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Thanks again for towers...needed them at race when rear bent. LOL
About to buy 1410...what gearing is the best on 2s, outdoor 1/8 track, also indoor clay?
I'm running a 14t on a medium size indoor track,
most folks here run a 13 or 14 there.
I switch to a 15t when I run at a larger/faster indoor track.
I may try a 16 at a large outdoor track.
so far it never gets past 145 with any gearing I've tried

Glad the towers got there OK!
silversam is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:30 PM
  #9289  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

i also made my own number plates different shape from the stock ones, they have more contact from the air flowing over the cab
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:31 PM
  #9290  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
larlev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Austin, Tx.
Posts: 1,534
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by silversam View Post
I'm running a 14t on a medium size indoor track,
most folks here run a 13 or 14 there.
I switch to a 15t when I run at a larger/faster indoor track.
I may try a 16 at a large outdoor track.
so far it never gets past 145 with any gearing I've tried

Glad the towers got there OK!
Crap....hoping you wouldn't say all those. LOL
They get pricey...I'll just get 13-17. Motor is cheap anyway
larlev is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:32 PM
  #9291  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
jmc23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Whitesboro N.Y.
Posts: 302
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default track

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Thanks for the explanation...very nice. Wasn't aware of the 30krpm number. Looks like 1410 it is then.
Originally Posted by 8ight-e View Post
That's crazy funny.. love it! I've been fortunate enough to stay undefeated as well.. hook me up w/ the bus paint body Though the second I get it, I'll start losing.. LOL If I lose, I just hope it's to another scte.. I know.. retarded
We have a new track set up for tommorow bri.
jmc23 is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:39 PM
  #9292  
Tech Addict
 
russp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 667
Default

Originally Posted by 10sctrel0v3r View Post
well damn i might just have to get myself one of these bad as 1410 motors every one loves jut for a back up. running the novak 550 4.5 with the havok pro esc...any know if that esc would support the 1410?
nope the Havok or any novak esc's for that matter do not support sensorless operation.
russp is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:41 PM
  #9293  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 371
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

This truck is like driving my SC8 on the track, no other trucks can mess with you or they find them self's in the wall or out of control, lol....Door rubbing is so much fun!
THE DOC is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 10:42 PM
  #9294  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
10sctrel0v3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Titusville, Fl.
Posts: 388
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by russp View Post
nope the Havok or any novak esc's for that matter do not support sensorless operation.
ah i havent done my homework yet, there for i didnt know castles 1410 is sensorless. thanks for the heads up....btw is there an advantage sensorless vs. non-sensor?
10sctrel0v3r is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 11:01 PM
  #9295  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 165
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by larlev View Post
Very interesting....what gearing you running with the 1410. I'm about to try one I think. I really like my 1415(2s), but have heard more and more good things about the 1410 as the weeks go by.
I run a 15t on a large indoor high bite track. It temps at 145 without a fan but my motor seems to run a bit hotter than other 1410's. I use to run it in my Slash 4x4 and it would always temp at 175 with a fan on it. I've got a lot of cycles on my Gens Ace 40c batts and am getting about 10 minutes run time now. In my Slash I would get 15-17.
Jedev is offline  
Old 05-11-2011, 11:14 PM
  #9296  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (33)
 
Blitzrockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: B.C Canada
Posts: 2,183
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

what would you recomend for gearing with the tenshock 4600kv on a outdoor med size track? I have a 13 im using right now seems to work good.
Blitzrockey is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 12:49 AM
  #9297  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
BmainStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: pullin in,ca.
Posts: 1,985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ridley View Post
I've had the exact opposite experience with STRC, I think their stuff is garbage. The slash 4x4 steering rack slopped out faster than the stock traxxas plastic rack, and the center driveshaft twisted, so I had to go back to using the stocker. On my Blitz, I thought I'd give them another shot, and bought another steering rack, and it sucked too...slopped out in short order, was poorly machined with poor tolerances for the stock inserts. I will not buy another STRC product They are cheap...but for good reason.
I will agree on the steering rack!!!!
BmainStar is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 01:04 AM
  #9298  
Tech Addict
 
russp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 667
Default

Is 400 oz servo overkill???? Lol jus hooked my servo to batt power and now got .11/sec and 403 oz of torque!
russp is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 03:46 AM
  #9299  
Tech Master
iTrader: (38)
 
alvinsmith75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Orleans Area
Posts: 1,107
Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 10sctrel0v3r View Post
ah i havent done my homework yet, there for i didnt know castles 1410 is sensorless. thanks for the heads up....btw is there an advantage sensorless vs. non-sensor?
I have run both and firmly believe sensored is a waste unless you are rock crawling.
The sensor only works at take off from a dead stop and it is a fact that sensored is less efficient.
alvinsmith75 is offline  
Old 05-12-2011, 04:00 AM
  #9300  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 1,010
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I'm surprised to find that the Novak's also don't support sensorless. That is just dumb. Hall sensors fail at times and sensor cables certainly do fail and get pulled out. My cheap hobbywing seems better and better all the time. I'm going to get another for backup.
chiro972 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.