Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread >

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Like Tree9Likes

Losi 1/10 TEN-SCTE ARR 4x4 Short Course Truck Thread

Old 09-12-2012, 08:24 PM
  #39271  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
myl3s91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 238
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TCCustoms View Post
turn down the current limiter...most have it down to atleast 85% and lower. Not sure how you do that on the RX8 but i kno thats the main one alot use



Yes, the 4000kv or 4600kv motors
Yeah I have read that also. Hopefully that will do something. i see on amain and horizon you can buy an 11T pinion that says its for the scte. I might give that a shot.
myl3s91 is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 08:27 PM
  #39272  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 178
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by myl3s91 View Post
Would selecting throttle profile 1 and adjusting the current limiter and neutral width help? Issue is, I HAVE TOO MUCH POWER!
i would stick with profile 3, and set current limiter to 40% and test it. mine is turned down to 35% and prolly going lower. not sure that neutral width will help reduce power, just throttle response
gen3busonoma is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 08:36 PM
  #39273  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (13)
 
skrichter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 893
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default 22SCT Wheel

With the 22 SCT wheel being out now for a bit, has anyone tested it? Durability? Same offset as stock?
skrichter is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 08:46 PM
  #39274  
Tech Master
iTrader: (39)
 
BDRMBULLY's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: toronto CANADA
Posts: 1,490
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Turn current limit down to 65. Throttle profile 1, no timing no boost . Consider a fan or at least a heat sink?
BDRMBULLY is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 10:26 PM
  #39275  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
chucko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by myl3s91 View Post
How do i fit an 11t pinion and lower on this truck... Also, can I tame down my rx8? how do i do that!?
turning down the limit for current only is for starting power. after it gets to 5ooo rpm's the speed control takes over and its at full power. an 11 tooth pin is to small. carpet racing indoors should be a 13 or 14 and then at that checked for temps. lowering pinion count gets you a quicker start and then with the radio it would be harder to control. the bigger the pin gear without over heating is the way to go .. The rx 8 can be programed if you have the hot wire in throttle profile. you can set the curve for power as you need it for the track. start out with 60 % current no drag break, 0 timing, throttle profile 2 set break as you need it.,, the lower the better for heat. run a fan. the pro 4 and rx 8 run hot keep it below 190 degrees.. clean after 3 or 4 races watch the bearings they go quick if you dont keep em oiled and that causes problems. JMO hope this helps
chucko is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 10:46 PM
  #39276  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
TimMo846's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ran into some issues today while out practicing. I currently have a RX8 with a Tenshock 411 4600, a Savox 1283 Servo and a cap plugged into my receiver to take out any glitch for my steering, but today as I was trying to throttle it it started to glitch if I gave it full throttle to hit a jump. I checked the cap's volts and it's still good, can't seem to figure out what might be wrong? The ESC has no Timing/boost, and is set for 2S, 80% on current, and everything else is set at default. Any clues?
TimMo846 is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 10:56 PM
  #39277  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TimMo846 View Post
Ran into some issues today while out practicing. I currently have a RX8 with a Tenshock 411 4600, a Savox 1283 Servo and a cap plugged into my receiver to take out any glitch for my steering, but today as I was trying to throttle it it started to glitch if I gave it full throttle to hit a jump. I checked the cap's volts and it's still good, can't seem to figure out what might be wrong? The ESC has no Timing/boost, and is set for 2S, 80% on current, and everything else is set at default. Any clues?
I would try using an external BEC to see if that fixes things as it would supply constant voltage directly to the receiver / servo. In the end, the capacitor can only smooth things out for short periods of time and has a limited capacity.
eddomak is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 11:08 PM
  #39278  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
TimMo846's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eddomak View Post
I would try using an external BEC to see if that fixes things as it would supply constant voltage directly to the receiver / servo. In the end, the capacitor can only smooth things out for short periods of time and has a limited capacity.
So what your suggesting is something along the lines of this? If so, I called it a cap and already have one plugged into my receiver.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tage-Protector
TimMo846 is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 11:37 PM
  #39279  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TimMo846 View Post
So what your suggesting is something along the lines of this? If so, I called it a cap and already have one plugged into my receiver.

http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...tage-Protector
No, something along the lines of this:
http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_info.php/cPath/1574_199/products_id/18210/n/Castle-Creations-10-Amp-Adjustable-BEC


A cap(acitor) / glitch buster stores a set amount of current, and then lets it out cleanly until it the stored current is depleted. Sort of like filling a cup with water at the same time that you are pouring it out. Temporary stops of the "in" flow" won't affect the "out" flow until the capcitor is empty.

The external BEC will basically use your battery to power the whole system directly, bypassing the internal BEC of the ESC.
eddomak is offline  
Old 09-12-2012, 11:53 PM
  #39280  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Suteki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toowoomba AUS
Posts: 481
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

What the go with tires on this truck? I keep reading in the past that the SCTE has an unusual offset.

I am really limited in what I can get locally. I have access to AKA tires but wheels, I don't what to get.

Will the AKA Enduros fit the standard Losi rims if I just give them an acetone soaking to remove the eclipse tires?
Suteki is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 12:09 AM
  #39281  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (8)
 
eddomak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 531
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
What the go with tires on this truck? I keep reading in the past that the SCTE has an unusual offset.

I am really limited in what I can get locally. I have access to AKA tires but wheels, I don't what to get.

Will the AKA Enduros fit the standard Losi rims if I just give them an acetone soaking to remove the eclipse tires?
It's the wheels that are the issue with offset, not the tyres. So any standard 2.2/3.0 short course tyres will fit the eclipse wheels. As an example I have the Proline Calibre 2.0's mounted on my original losi wheels. I have some Proline Trenchers mounted on the DE Racing SCTE wheels.
eddomak is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 12:11 AM
  #39282  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Suteki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toowoomba AUS
Posts: 481
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Ok so shouldn't be a problem to remove the standard losi tires then and mount them on the standard wheels.

Looks like it's time to pick up some tire glue and acetone.
Suteki is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 06:00 AM
  #39283  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Ralph289's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Central FL.
Posts: 380
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kcobra View Post
Yea, that is how the original Castle Links were constructed years ago. I still use that same kind.
Thank you for the help !
Ralph289 is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 07:12 AM
  #39284  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (32)
 
rcgod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Blackfoot Idaho.
Posts: 3,353
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by eddomak View Post
It's the wheels that are the issue with offset, not the tyres. So any standard 2.2/3.0 short course tyres will fit the eclipse wheels. As an example I have the Proline Calibre 2.0's mounted on my original losi wheels. I have some Proline Trenchers mounted on the DE Racing SCTE wheels.
What's wrong with the wheel offset? I know the stock wheels are offset slightly narrower than the aftermarket wheels but the difference is very small. Like maybe 1mm per side.
rcgod is offline  
Old 09-13-2012, 12:24 PM
  #39285  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
TimMo846's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 736
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
What the go with tires on this truck? I keep reading in the past that the SCTE has an unusual offset.

I am really limited in what I can get locally. I have access to AKA tires but wheels, I don't what to get.

Will the AKA Enduros fit the standard Losi rims if I just give them an acetone soaking to remove the eclipse tires?
Originally Posted by Suteki View Post
Ok so shouldn't be a problem to remove the standard losi tires then and mount them on the standard wheels.

Looks like it's time to pick up some tire glue and acetone.
It's not the wheel off set or tires at all that are unusual. The reason behind having to have a certain wheel is that the front arms are wide will hit a normal wheel around the pin area. What a lot of people do, is dremel out the webbing on the inside of the front wheels to allow clearance. Here's a video from Proline that shows how to grind the wheel down some.
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
.
AKA Enduro's will fit the stock wheels(rims) if you remove the Eclipse tires.

Last edited by TimMo846; 09-13-2012 at 02:20 PM.
TimMo846 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.