Search
Like Tree1Likes

TLR 22 Racing Buggy Thread

Search this Thread

Old 12-19-2011, 12:53 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Milk50
I am new to the electric world. I am looking at the 22.

Would this ESC/motor combo be suitable for the 22?

http://www.hobbypartz.com/07e-combo-sc-a.html

If so, any advice on gearing? The 22 manual says 76spur 24pinion for a 10.5 turn motor. Would that be the starting point?

If not, any suggestions on a similar combo around that price point?
I would go with the hobbywing X9 combo. thats what I run, very smooth and strong. 76/24 works great.
Old 12-19-2011, 01:13 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)

Originally Posted by Peff
Hi guys, I have been changing my mind between this buggy, dex210 and now 22T. I still love the look of this 22 buggy though. I have tried reading through all the pages in this forum, but it takes some time filtering through. What are the problems to look out for on this rig, things like slop and what are the fixes? I think I've decide the 22 buggy it is, but want to get into it, knowing the challenges. Are there any must have add ons or are they merely bling factor?

Thanks
Peff, Out of the box, the biggest issue is the diff nut assuming you get one of the old one that is a holder with a small nut you insert into it. If you got one of the new ones where the nut is integrated, then you are set. If you got an old one, you can contact customer service and explain to them your diff nut is bad and you need/want one of the upgraded ones, or you can just pick it up when you pick up the kit (TLR2946). That is the one "issue" with the box stock car.

As far as upgrades I would recommend, the biggest ones for me are the carbide diff balls and thrust balls. After that, its really up to you. I would run it and replace stuff as you want.
Old 12-19-2011, 01:19 PM
Tech Prophet

Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)