Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric Off-Road
Losi e 8ight break issues >

Losi e 8ight break issues

Losi e 8ight break issues

Reply

Old 11-02-2008, 05:13 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
ATMHOBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 80
Default Losi e 8ight break issues

Hello Everyone,

I have an e 8ight. It is awesome, great runtime, great everything, but my breaks are way too strong. When I go over jumps it is hard to control the pitch of the car becasue my breaks are either full on or barely there. Need help. Any setup ideas. I have a 3pm radio and the Excelorin speed control.

Thanks!
ATMHOBBY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:16 PM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (6)
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

I don't have a 1/18 system but I know on the losi 1/10 esc's they have a brake percent setting, turn that down, or adjust the brake epa on your transmitter
Matt Howard is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 05:20 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
ATMHOBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 80
Default

Can I fix it by putting my ESC at 50%, than just use EPA to make adjustments from there.

I think right now I have my ESC at under 10%, and my EPA at 15%.
ATMHOBBY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 06:49 PM
  #4  
Tech Apprentice
 
pigeonfarmboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Monticello, IL
Posts: 74
Default

I programmed my drag brake to 0% on the computer. With the little field plug-in programmer you're going to have to do the EPA trick.
pigeonfarmboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 07:08 PM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
ATMHOBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 80
Default

I can do the computer down to 0%, but what is the EPA trick?
ATMHOBBY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 09:46 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Guys you can not CHANGE the end points after calibration. Use the TRIM, if you change the end points you need to recalibrate or you may have unusualy results with Brakes, Neutral (Drag Brake) and even Throttle.
rocketron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 06:01 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (11)
 
Miller_Time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 11 (92%+)
Default

I know that I've seen several people posting issues with the brakes, but when I received mine last week it works exactly as I would expect a brushless system. The brakes will lock up at around 90% trigger throw, and up to that point I can get a good range of braking.

Perhaps the issue comes from the transmitter not being properly zeroed out before calibrating the ESC, or the ESC may have an improper brake level set out of the box. Try connecting the ESC to your PC and adjust the brake strength and curve to default and then calibrate your ESC/transmitter again.
Miller_Time is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 06:29 AM
  #8  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
ATMHOBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 80
Default

I'll give it try
ATMHOBBY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 07:12 AM
  #9  
Registered User
iTrader: (20)
 
UltegraSTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 7,171
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

updates on this, curious

R
UltegraSTI is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 11:27 AM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 65
Default

I too have bad braking issues. The first time I hit the brakes after setting everything up, I thought I broke something. The wheels instantly came to a stop. My only solution was to turn the overall braking percentage down to almost nothing and the end point down to almost nothing. Even after doing that there is a very short burst of what seems to be full brake before it backs off to the lower braking level.

I will try to recalibrate now and see what happens.

Also, is it ok to change the curves on the radio after calibration?
edfmaniac is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 12:59 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (209)
 
hlpressley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 2,716
Trader Rating: 209 (99%+)
Default

I had this exact same issue and it turned out to be a programming issue between the ESC and the Transmitter. I would try to re-calibrate your binding between the two and see if that helps. It worked for me and mine is great now.
hlpressley is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 02:11 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (16)
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,270
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

The endpoints should be set to 100% for most transmitters, for the newer KO radio you should set the endpoints to 125%. Then calibrate the esc to the transmitter, and use the trim to adjust from there. If the endpoints are changed after calibration you really need to recalibrate again.
rocketron is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 02:19 PM
  #13  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Mine was overwhelming at first as well. I just turned the brake EPA down, and wa-la, braking I can live with.
R40Victim is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 06:31 PM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
ATMHOBBY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 80
Default

Well, I tried many different solutions at the track today, even had Horizon on the phone with me for while.

I set my break curve to a near flat line, my TX points or all at 100. The car breaks extremely strong at times, but sometimes it will just cost for a few seconds and then the break will kick in strong. It just is not very predictable. I just wanted more control when I go off jumps on the track. I guess I will just use the drag break, and get used to driving with more of it.

Open to all suggestions, would love to have this thing work well.
thanks for all input.
ATMHOBBY is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2008, 09:18 PM
  #15  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
R40Victim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.W. FL___L.A.___Lower Alabama
Posts: 7,827
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think I was running 8% drag, 20% brakes, and my EPA was around 10 Worked very well.
R40Victim is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service