Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Gearbox Question?

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2020, 09:41 PM
Tech Rookie

Default Gearbox Question?

Can I use an aluminium or brass pinion gear with steel spur gears? Will the steel damage the pinion gear?
Old 06-30-2020, 11:45 PM
Tech Apprentice

Originally Posted by JoshRC
Can I use an aluminium or brass pinion gear with steel spur gears? Will the steel damage the pinion gear?
Newbie here so take what I say with a grain of salt.

Given that you are running a metal spur gear instead of plastic, you may want to lubricate it somehow. Is the pinion and spur enclosed? If not, a dry lubricant may be best to avoid attracting dust and dirt etc. Something like Rock N Roll Red/Absolute Dry (dry bike chain lubricant) may work well. It is likely that you will need to reapply it often.

Link:
http://www.rocklube.com/products.html

Honestly, I think I’d rather just run a plastic spur gear so I don’t have to worry about lubrication...
Old 07-01-2020, 05:47 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)

Originally Posted by JoshRC
Yes they can be used, but aluminum and brass will tend to wear faster than steel in my experience.

I also have found that lubricating metal to metal gears is a good idea for enclosed spaces, but if they are exposed and dirt is attracted to the grease, then you will want to clean it regularly or you will risk wearing the gears faster than not having any grease at all. Instead of a heavy grease, I would consider lightly spraying the gears with WD40 - "Dry Lube" after every run, it will both clean and protect the gears without risk of attracting any dirt/debris
Old 07-01-2020, 07:34 PM
Tech Regular

Location: northern Indiana southern Michigan all depends on the day.

you can. but i found metal spur gears tends ware out pinions faster, very fast compared to plastic spur metal pinion(the way i do it). ands since pinions cost 2-3 time that of plastic spur. i prefer to swap out spurs over pinions.