Failsafe

Old 12-26-2002, 01:31 AM
  #1  
Iceman27
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Failsafe

Hi there...

I have a Hitec 5925, 5645. I had recently bought a failsafe for use on my MP7.5 (throttle servo).

When activated (failsafe), both the servos did not hold steady at the set location. Instead, the servos were twitching rather dramatically.

When I tried the same failsafe with a Futaba 9001, all was well. The servo rotated to the set location & held ground like a soldier.

Would anyone care to shed some light on this perculiar situation?

Merry Christmas & Happy New Year...!!!
 
Old 12-26-2002, 04:19 PM
  #2  
Company Representative
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Which Failsafe unit is it? What kind of radio gear are you using? And what kind of Rx pack are you using? I'll try and get back to you in a bit. TTYL.


Gary
Gary Fliegel is offline  
Old 12-26-2002, 09:31 PM
  #3  
Iceman27
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Dear Gary,

Thanks for taking the time to reply my message.

FYI, my radio system is the Futaba 3PDF. The failsafe in question is the GWS (Grand Wing Servo) FS-2. The receiver pack that I use are Metal Hydride cells. Config is 6V 1300mAH.

Hope the a/m info. is sufficient for you study. Look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Iceman27
 
Old 12-26-2002, 09:56 PM
  #4  
Company Representative
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've looked at the products that you have mentioned, but there really wasn't any info on the FS-2. The only thing that I can figure is that the FS-2 is not compatible with digital servos. The Futaba servo that you mentioned is a analog unit while the Hitecs are digital. It may be that the signal that the FS-2 sends to the servo is fine for a regular, but is too slow for the digital. You may want to check with GWS on the compatiblity of the unit with digital servos. I'll check around some more to see if I can find anything else. TTYL.


Gary
Gary Fliegel is offline  
Old 12-27-2002, 02:32 AM
  #5  
Iceman27
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi Gary,

You may follow the following URL to get more info. on the GWS FS-2 failsafe unit.

http://rotor.com.sg/gws/

Hope it helps!
 
Old 12-27-2002, 06:00 AM
  #6  
Company Representative
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I've got a email into GWS about this. As soon as they get back to me I'll let you know. THanks for the link. TTYL.


Gary
Gary Fliegel is offline  
Old 12-27-2002, 06:07 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 679
Default

I use the Ko Propo failsafe with my 5645 & 5625 servos without any problems. Might want to look at that if you have to change your brand of failsafe.
tekrsq is offline  
Old 12-27-2002, 11:24 PM
  #8  
Iceman27
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Hi tekrsq,

Tks. for the info.
 
Old 12-30-2002, 06:38 AM
  #9  
Company Representative
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Iceman,

Just got a reply from GWS. They say that the FS-2 can not handle the high drain of digital servos and are sorry about that. If you like I can send you the email. TTYL.


Gary
Gary Fliegel is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.