Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > Company/Manufacturer Forums > Ask Hitec
Can ESC's burn up motors? >

Can ESC's burn up motors?

Can ESC's burn up motors?

Old 12-03-2002, 03:28 PM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 796
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default Can ESC's burn up motors?

I lost 3 motors in one day with no idea why. The gearing was fine , no drivetrain drag, no shorts visible etc... I lost 3 motors in 10 years before that mostly to thrown winds, none just spontaneously cooking like these 3. The motors ran fine the first couple mins then cooked after 2,4,and 5 mins of running. Could it be the ESC?
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 03:31 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 796
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I am asking specifically about my HFX which I love, but I've heard people complain about Novaks, GMs, and LRPs "burning up" motors.

More info, the HFX was cool to warm after these cookouts and the batt was warm with a normal amount of runtime left after the runs.
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 05:24 PM
  #3  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I have ran the HFX with all sorts of motors, from wild to mild.....

No issues what so ever......

What was burnt up?
the comm, the windings or ??????
Tres is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 06:39 PM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 796
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

the windings, on three stock motors. 2 comms darkened, 1 comm looks ok

Yeah like I've said, I love it, I've run mods in buggy/truck 10-14 turns, and the other one I have I've run 4 cell 9-12 turn in 12th scale.

I'm sending it in because I'm too chicken to change the wires myself and I cut into them to put in a power capacitor, and then cut them too short to put back in my 10L3T (where I lost the motors).
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 12-03-2002, 06:51 PM
  #5  
Company Representative
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What kind of stocks were they? What kind of brushes were you running? At most a speedo can only put out the maximum voltage that a battery has. I have never heard of a speedo frying motors before tho.


Gary
Gary Fliegel is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 11:23 AM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 796
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

They were: an MVP, a Core, and a Rage; with 767's and 769 brushes. I understand the voltage would not be higher than what the battery puts out, I was wondering if there was anything else any ESC could do like short, or lose a fet or have brake problems to kill motors. I have never heard from a reputable source about this, just guys blaming the ESC like me.
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 12-04-2002, 09:23 PM
  #7  
Company Representative
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 1,645
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I'll look into speedo's and what they can do. As of now the only thing I could think of is that you may have had some of the bad batch of 767's that came out a while back. They would smoke a comm in under 2 min. I'll get back to you shortly. TTYL.


Gary
Gary Fliegel is offline  
Old 12-05-2002, 07:02 AM
  #8  
Company Representative
iTrader: (14)
 
Tres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: WWW.TNT-FX.COM
Posts: 3,403
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

The only time I have a ESC do this was when the Drive Freq was set to low on the programmable ones.....

Tres is offline  
Old 12-05-2002, 12:39 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 796
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thanks guys

also, I forgot to put it one the service card, the brakes seemed really weak to non existant.

I ordered up a 3rd HFX to cover this one while it's is away, I don't fiqure it'll get back before Sunday the 15th.
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 12-27-2002, 12:25 PM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 796
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Thank you HITEC!
I got my HFX replaced for the cost of shipping!
I'm happy now that I have 3 great esc's.
Gary
gacjr0 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.