Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro On-Road
Can I race a HPI RS4 -3 in todays world? >

Can I race a HPI RS4 -3 in todays world?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Can I race a HPI RS4 -3 in todays world?

Search this Thread

Old 10-22-2012, 06:49 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Can I race a HPI RS4 -3 in todays world?

I am a newbie but would like to try out racing with my current car(s).

Would I survive in novice races with either an HPI RS4-3 1/10 nitro or OFNA Ultra MBX Pro 1/8 nitro buggy?

Both have Airtronics/Blazer radios and are near stock.

Are these too dated or will they hold up fine with today's "race cars".

Thanks
Old 10-22-2012, 09:39 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)

If you can get the hang of driving, any car will b able to compete in a novice class......key to novice is finishing the race!! I would say practice practice practice, get familiar with setting up a race car and practice! Then when some local fast guy tells you "you should get a race kit" that's when U'll kno your ready to step up.....reason is your hpi will lack the clutch and car adjustability that u will need to really go fast!! i.e not being able to adjust rollcenter, droop, and just the overall design of the car having a really high center of gravity will hurt you if you attempt to use hpi at pro level........
Old 10-22-2012, 10:37 AM
Tech Lord

At some clubs there is an open RTR class which could be suitable for you. Here in Holland the Kyosho cup starters class is open for every original RTR car.

The RS4 with foam tires, a good engine and some optional parts like turnbuckles for playing with the setup is able to give some good performance in the hands of a good driver but at the end it will not be competive enough.

For a good cheap competive car you should take a look to the Xray NT1R