R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-07-2013, 12:17 AM   #4246
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Thanks mate. Also, has anyone installed the front balancer with the exotek conversion?
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 02:38 AM   #4247
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

I have the nose weight on the previous Exotek chassis. Have to drill another hole on the updated one to make it work.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:17 AM   #4248
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Cool thanks ill give it a miss then. Hopefully the caster plate provides enough weight up front.
Thanks
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 04:48 AM   #4249
Tech Elite
 
fleetmaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NSW
Posts: 2,642
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vazzo View Post
Ive put the old pivot balls in the exotek arms and they have no give they are extremely stiff inside the new arms. Instructions say to take them out and put them back in to make them loosen up but after 20 times it hasnt made any difference. I tried heating them up as well with no luck. Just thought someone may have used a different method that worked better.
Thanks
Adrian
Give them a squeeze with pliers , maybe a few times if necessary. Do this while the cup is fitted to the ball........always works for me. ( on the sides of the cup )

Last edited by fleetmaster; 04-07-2013 at 04:49 AM. Reason: Clarify
fleetmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 01:33 PM   #4250
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Hawaii, USA
Posts: 7,157
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vazzo View Post
Cool thanks ill give it a miss then. Hopefully the caster plate provides enough weight up front.
Thanks
You'll need to Dremel a little off the back to clear the front chassis post and drill/tap another hole in the weight for it to mount on. On the upper chassis itself the hole you need is drilled on the nose brace but will still need to be drilled through the upper chassis plate. It is all pretty easy and you'll pretty much see what I mean once you try test fitting it.

It did help to calm down the bounce in the front end. Our track is a bit on the rough side and the front bounced a bit.
InspGadgt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 03:54 PM   #4251
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 1,125
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default F104 vs. FGX

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarthRacer View Post
I've read through a lot of this thread because I'm doing research on F1 cars. I want to get one and I am currently considering an F104 car but other options are open.
I keep checking in on the FGX because of it's price but from what I've read there are a lot of durability and adjustability issues with this car that are only solved with lots of upgrades and re-engineering. Since I'm new to these cars (but not pan cars FWIW) I'm not so sure that an FGX would be worth the time and money. Someone care to convince me otherwise?
Probably 6 of one and 5.5 of the other! lol The F104 is the baseline and is hard to beat, imo. The reason I prefer other brands id to be different!! I have race on carpet this winter and really enjoyed both the FGX and an F104 clone called the TRG. It's a link car like the V2 but has a turnbuckle type front end and a dual damper tube set-up. To say I'm over the hill as a driver is an understatement but both were fun to drive and I was running nearly identicle times. The FGX (Pretty much full option exotek) did break but a car was stopped at the end of the longest straight in the warmup and I ran into him at full tilt.
I don't think you can go for the FGX on cost, it does require some upgrades, especially the front end, but it may come into it's own outdoors. There are many new cars just out or coming soon and all should be good.

Get something, get your feet wet and upgrade when you feel it's needed.

Have fun!
aarcobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 01:59 AM   #4252
Tech Initiate
 
nathanjohnzrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 33
Default

Hi, I don't have any experience with F1 cars. I saw the pictures and I think it's time to change my car. I will buy an F1 car soon.
__________________
Regards
Nathan
nathanjohnzrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2013, 11:23 AM   #4253
Tech Regular
 
josecarlo1129's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Las Vegas/ Bahrain
Posts: 398
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

"Half-baked". Still working on the decals. I am really busy and can only manage to do small things to it. Cheers to all!

__________________
Nitro: On-road 1/8: Motonica P81-RS2/Vox/Savox
Off-road 1/8: JQ TheCar/Vox/Savox
Electric: On-road 1/10 TC: Awesomatix A700 EVO/AE BD/Team Orion/Ko Propo
On-road 1/10 F1: 3Racing FGX + RC9394 Carbon Conversion AE BD/Team Orion/Ko Propo
josecarlo1129 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 01:45 PM   #4254
Tech Master
 
DarthRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

To give this thread a little bump...


I ordered an FGX and a bunch of upgrades to join this crew. Looks like the enthusiasm died down after the initial release either due to people moving on or maybe it is because we are in the outdoor racing season. Either way this will be my first F1 and I have been through this entire thread so I don't think I'll have any surprises.
DarthRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 02:25 PM   #4255
Tech Champion
 
Tony Newland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,610
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Where did you order it from? We have kits and parts all in stock also.

Today is our first practice day on the onroad track. its gonna be a circus lol Im mounting my steering servo right now and Ill be heading out. Im pumped to get this thing on the track!
__________________
www.Prime-Hobby.com - Schumacher - Core RC - Dualsky Highest Servos - Avid - Lunsford - DiscountRCStore.com
Procircuit Tires - Bellgate Distributors - Pro Speed - Ultimate Racing Products - Modelix Racing - Upgrade RC
Tony Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 02:46 PM   #4256
Tech Master
 
DarthRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,089
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I did a bulk order with a buddy to save shipping since we were both ordering stuff. I don't know where he ordered them from.

Will you be getting the speed gear set in stock? I'm going to end up getting the Ti turnbuckle set too.
DarthRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2013, 03:03 PM   #4257
Tech Champion
 
Tony Newland's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Utah
Posts: 5,610
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Shipping? Always free on DRC over $50

ya we have the gears in stock, no turnbuckles yet
__________________
www.Prime-Hobby.com - Schumacher - Core RC - Dualsky Highest Servos - Avid - Lunsford - DiscountRCStore.com
Procircuit Tires - Bellgate Distributors - Pro Speed - Ultimate Racing Products - Modelix Racing - Upgrade RC
Tony Newland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 09:56 PM   #4258
Tech Elite
 
vazzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Brisbane, QLD
Posts: 2,715
Trader Rating: 100 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys
I'm running the exotek chassis and I've bought shorty packs for it. Is there anything else that needs to be done to fit these packs in? It doesn't look there is anything left in the exotek kit to shorten the battery compartment.

Thanks
Adrian
__________________
Gone riding, cya.........
vazzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 11:18 PM   #4259
Tech Master
 
edhchoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: vancouver, wa, usa
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

In the back, I have shoe goo'd on a piece of carbon fiber I got from a track buddy.
You can use a piece of plastic piece. Mine is about 2x40x10 mm in size.
edhchoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2013, 08:07 PM   #4260
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: coastal georgia
Posts: 107
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Do these type of cars have the clearance to run on a tennis court? No road track around but I would like to have an F1 RC cause I like the 1:1 F1 and it could be something different from the collection of short course stuff.
7echo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HPI's new F1 PhatPat Electric On-Road 1173 10-10-2013 12:18 AM
new F1 !!! il-gufo Electric On-Road 29 03-26-2011 11:17 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:58 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0