R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2005, 07:02 PM   #6211
Tech Regular
 
WD40's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 400
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Hey everyone with a FT TC4......I was thinking about getting a TC4 but heard it had a lot of slop in the steering. So I called associated and they said they had never heard that problem nor were having the problem themselves. Anyone that has found that steering slop problem on their FT TC4 please respond so I cas see how many people are having it or if its just a few. Thanks
WD40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2005, 07:33 PM   #6212
Tech Regular
 
Jeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 413
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I too noticed that the ballcup was slight touching the driveshaft. I dremeled the ballcup down slightly and now there is no rubbing at full lock.
Jeel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 01:17 AM   #6213
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Batteries...... and more questions......

Will the FT-TC4 accept the GP3700's??? Or do I have to file away the cahssis to make the batteries fit snugly?

Does the FT-TC4 come with a battery brace or do we just tape the batteries?? If so, is there an option to use a battery brace?

Will the input shafts of the TC3 fit the FT-TC4? I still have some bnew lightweight ones.

Thanks!!!
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 01:38 AM   #6214
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lem2
Will the FT-TC4 accept the GP3700's??? Or do I have to file away the cahssis to make the batteries fit snugly?

Does the FT-TC4 come with a battery brace or do we just tape the batteries?? If so, is there an option to use a battery brace?

Will the input shafts of the TC3 fit the FT-TC4? I still have some bnew lightweight ones.

Thanks!!!
no battry braces you hve to use tape
__________________
hotbodies cyclone, hotbodies tcxx orca v3 esc
tc3 racer sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 01:45 AM   #6215
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tc3 racer sc
no battry braces you hve to use tape
Thanks for the speedy reply, I guess I have to salvage the battery brace from the warpspeed tc3.

Or make a battery brace out of the warpspeed tc3 chassis
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 05:18 AM   #6216
Tech Initiate
 
AKARA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: -Joey Ellis-
Posts: 41
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackKat
Joey, As soon as you get to race it, please e-mail me some feedback. I'm probably gonna get a 3Racing chassis (looks nice and the price is right) Could you tell me how much weight the chassis conversion took off the car?
I didn't get a chance to weigh it or even race it. It's been rainning here so maybe next weekend I will go racing. Here are some more pix of it. I just put the electronics in today. The only thing bad about the chassis is the top deck. You have to file away some of the deck near the motor so that the motor can have more adjustments. Other then that, it's pretty bling.

(Anyone want to trade my TC4 for a TAMIYA EVO4? Email me if interested and I will tell you what else comes with the TC4. No electrics)
Attached Thumbnails
Team Associated TC4-dsc01012.jpg   Team Associated TC4-dsc01013.jpg   Team Associated TC4-dsc01015.jpg   Team Associated TC4-dsc01017.jpg  
AKARA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 05:40 AM   #6217
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Groton Ct.
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lem2
Will the FT-TC4 accept the GP3700's??? Or do I have to file away the cahssis to make the batteries fit snugly?

Does the FT-TC4 come with a battery brace or do we just tape the batteries?? If so, is there an option to use a battery brace?

Will the input shafts of the TC3 fit the FT-TC4? I still have some bnew lightweight ones.

Thanks!!!
If you look back on the previous page you will see my pics of the TC4, I have 3800's in my car
DawgMeat1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 08:12 AM   #6218
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DawgMeat1
If you look back on the previous page you will see my pics of the TC4, I have 3800's in my car
Hi! Yep, saw your pictures with the bats and how beautifuly you made yours.
Could you please PM or post how you did the slots? Is that manual or with a dremel?

Thanks!! Lem
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 02:49 PM   #6219
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,889
Trader Rating: 64 (100%+)
Default

Will there be a conversion for existing tub tc4?
__________________
SpeedZone Batteries
steve eaves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 03:23 PM   #6220
Tech Elite
 
RED-LINE M03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: >>> USA <<<
Posts: 4,102
Trader Rating: 127 (100%+)
Default 3racing

FYI

3RACING has a lot of new parts for TC4

http://www.3racing.com.hk/



E
RED-LINE M03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 06:52 PM   #6221
Tech Adept
 
xDeeDubYax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: V.23666.A
Posts: 138
Default

LEM2: There are holes provided for a battery brace, but no brace in the kit. Yes the layshafts are the same as the TC3/4 shafts. My lightweight layshafts dropped right in. The biggest change is how the rear shaft is shimmed between the spur and the cup for the main shaft. The single thick spacer is ditched for more adjustable thinner spacers.

I had a battery jump out on me today and stretch into an accordion. Apparently i didnt file the tape slots enough to avoid cutting the tape. I did get four batteries out of the same piece, so i guess i shouldnt complain. The car was smooth and responsive today with that setup i posted a few pages back. The only changes were no spine, and Jaco Plaid/Purple tires. Just the four chassis posts for stiffness. I noted no rubbing of the ballcup on the mainshaft, but it is very close.

- DaveW
xDeeDubYax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 08:06 PM   #6222
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Default

hey guys i have a question,,, what would be good gearing for a 19t motor on my tc4? I am using 64 pitch, i ahve been experimenting here and there with what i have, 96, 100 tooth spurs and from 28-40 tooth pinions and just cant seem to find the right one. Any advice on a good base to start from?
Eddog123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 08:28 PM   #6223
Tech Master
 
Fatboy Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Coming soooooon
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddog123
hey guys i have a question,,, what would be good gearing for a 19t motor on my tc4? I am using 64 pitch, i ahve been experimenting here and there with what i have, 96, 100 tooth spurs and from 28-40 tooth pinions and just cant seem to find the right one. Any advice on a good base to start from?
We need to know the dimensions of your track, length and width. Best would be a pic. In our track, 112ft. x 90ft., we run a final drive of 5.8:1 on a Reedy 19T Quad Mag. I am pretty sure you won't be able to run a 100T spur gear with a 43T pinion, your motor wont fit. If I remember correctly, I used a 37T pinion on an 88T Spur (all 64 pitch). I hope this helps.
Fatboy Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2005, 08:42 PM   #6224
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 51
Default

the track i run on is roughly 50x100 ft. ,, im using that same motor that you mentioned.
Eddog123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2005, 02:59 AM   #6225
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

I really don't know what all the fuss about too much slop in the TC4 steering is all about.

I have built or worked on virtually every make and type of car in the last 12 years and have yet to come across one without slop. The TC4 has no more than most. I know it doesn't look good, but a bit of slop doesn't effect the performance.

Indeed some manufacturers actually tell you, in the car's instructions, not to try and remove the slop as it will make the car wander more on the straights.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 08:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 02:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 08:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 09:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 01:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:06 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net

SEO by vBSEO 3.5.0