R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2009, 01:00 PM   #11416
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What is a good starting point for a spur gear, I have a 104 64pitch spur now. I run 17.5 rubber.
mark_stnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2009, 01:12 PM   #11417
Tech Elite
 
Scottmisfits's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 3,104
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

The guys around here are running 100/42 or there about. Depends on driving style, traction levels, size of track, layout of track, etc.
Scottmisfits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2009, 01:54 AM   #11418
Tech Regular
 
chrisfrom619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: San Diego California
Posts: 294
Send a message via Yahoo to chrisfrom619
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_stnly View Post
What is a good starting point for a spur gear, I have a 104 64pitch spur now. I run 17.5 rubber.
What speed control are you using? Regular speedo without advance timing I say from 3.8-4.3 FDR.
__________________
#1 Sponsor: Wifey
Hpi baja, traxxas e-maxx,slash, AE TC5R, RC18R,SC10, Thunder Tiger EB4 S2, and Futaba 4pk

DHW Raceway San Diego CA.
Novice Class
chrisfrom619 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 04:34 AM   #11419
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 773
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick Priest View Post
Oh dear..... at our club tonight.. another associated bent motor mount (standard not moved in)

Fresh off the track..
Ugh bad crash

Maybe this tip help you to prevent
I just cut it from fiberglass 2.5mm and it helps at my events

http://abram.eu.org/files/tc5_engine_prot.pdf



I don't know why AE don't add this to kit ?

M.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 06:00 AM   #11420
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Perth, Australia.
Posts: 1,343
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Thats one mod I've thought about doing.
I've successfully done the TRF servo mod, re-built the whole car at the same time. It's to be working alright, just gotta go to the track to test it.
__________________
Team Associated B5m | Team Associated T5m | Team Associated TC6 | Team Associated TC5x
Scooter79rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 07:38 AM   #11421
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Ugh bad crash

...

I don't know why AE don't add this to kit ?

M.
Because AE designed the motor mount with 3 screws, if mount it with only 2, you risk bending the mount in a crash
rcspeed.usa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 02:10 PM   #11422
Tech Fanatic
 
fatbear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Posts: 811
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to fatbear
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcspeed.usa View Post
Because AE designed the motor mount with 3 screws, if mount it with only 2, you risk bending the mount in a crash
It still bends easily with three screws mounted.
About onced every 4-6 months I have to replace mine.
__________________
Team Associated www.teamassociated.com
Team Tekin www.teamtekin.com
B-Fast R/C Performance www.bfastrc.com
JConcepts www.jconcepts.net
Ace Hobby Distributors www.acehobbyaustralia.com
fatbear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2009, 04:14 PM   #11423
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 126
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I am running an LRP SPX profile 8.
mark_stnly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 07:31 AM   #11424
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 773
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcspeed.usa View Post
Because AE designed the motor mount with 3 screws, if mount it with only 2, you risk bending the mount in a crash
Yes, you are right but I use 3 screws and sometimes got small hit
on motor side or I hit some track layout item and ... you know...

With my experience, better is have this one motor guard or nothing

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2009, 08:20 AM   #11425
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,447
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

I drilled the xray motor guard on my chassis and it works awesome.I ran last year without it and had no problems but better to be safe than sorry.I can post pics tonight.
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 02:22 AM   #11426
Tech Fanatic
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Poland, Warsaw
Posts: 773
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren Weaver View Post
I drilled the xray motor guard on my chassis and it works awesome.I ran last year without it and had no problems but better to be safe than sorry.I can post pics tonight.
Post it

Regards!
m.
__________________
Michal Abramowicz
http://abram.eu.org/gear_tc6.php
My setups there -> http://www.rc-setups.com
TC6!, TC5R, 12L4, 12R5.1, 10L2, 10R5, RC8T_CE_EL custom F1 chassis
http://www.wgtshop.com/
M.Abramowicz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 10:12 AM   #11427
Tech Elite
 
Warren Weaver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NASCAR COUNTRY
Posts: 2,447
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by M.Abramowicz View Post
Post it

Regards!
m.
i will when i get out of work today sorry i forgot.
thanks
warren
__________________
R1 WURKS-AWESOMATIX USA-LRP-BITTYDESIGN-TQ WIRE-PROTOTYPE RACING-SWEEP RACING-TXDSKINGRAPHIX-HOBMAX-THE RUG-TEAM EZDUZIT
R.I.P. MY FRIEND JDUB MISSED BUT NEVER FORGOTTEN
Warren Weaver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 07:51 PM   #11428
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 25
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Pretty new to touring cars just bought a TC5 and have a few questions after a few runs at my local carpet track (A Main Hobbies indoor track)...

1. one of my shocks is leaking oil out the bottom onto shaft. I bought a shock rebuild kit and rebuilt the insides but it still leaks - any ideas what my next step should be

2. Trying to get the right car set up - a guy at my track said a ride height of 5 and a droop of 5 is a good place to start. I backed my springs all the way off and used a integy ride height/droop gauge to set my ride height first. to set the car to a 5 ride height I barely tightened down on the springs - this doesn't seem right as when I pick the car up the springs aren't even ingaged. droop I am pretty clear on but I know I need to get my ride height right before I set my droop - I could be totally back wards on this as car set up is all new to me. Any hints, tips, ideas....real basic stuff as I am a beginner regards to car set up.

Thanks in advance for the help and hope everyone has a great thanksgiving.
hgbtrout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2009, 11:14 PM   #11429
Tech Master
 
pinggoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: WBP Florida
Posts: 1,263
Trader Rating: 24 (96%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to pinggoy
Default

try droop first then ride height.. also make sure your shock is in normal lenght,(61-62mm) measure the whole lenght of the shocks from top to bottom..

make sure you lube the oring and check the whole assemble.go over the manual..recheck.and let us know when your done..
__________________
TAMIYA TRF415 MRE l NOSRAM SPX l BALLISTIC 17.5
TAMIYA TRF416X
www.noicewatches.bigcartel.com
pinggoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2009, 02:10 AM   #11430
Tech Adept
 
Redwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 188
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hgbtrout View Post
Pretty new to touring cars just bought a TC5 and have a few questions after a few runs at my local carpet track (A Main Hobbies indoor track)...

1. one of my shocks is leaking oil out the bottom onto shaft. I bought a shock rebuild kit and rebuilt the insides but it still leaks - any ideas what my next step should be

2. Trying to get the right car set up - a guy at my track said a ride height of 5 and a droop of 5 is a good place to start. I backed my springs all the way off and used a integy ride height/droop gauge to set my ride height first. to set the car to a 5 ride height I barely tightened down on the springs - this doesn't seem right as when I pick the car up the springs aren't even ingaged. droop I am pretty clear on but I know I need to get my ride height right before I set my droop - I could be totally back wards on this as car set up is all new to me. Any hints, tips, ideas....real basic stuff as I am a beginner regards to car set up.

Thanks in advance for the help and hope everyone has a great thanksgiving.
1.The first time I built my shocks, they leaked. It was because I trimmed slightly the black plastic retainer that seals the oring at the bottom. I bought a rebuild kit, again the retainers seemed too big but with the tool you get with the kit and a lot of force you can get them in, and the shocks have been perfect since.

2. I'm not 100% sure I know what you mean, but there is no reason your springs should need to be engaged when you pick the car up, it only matters that theyre engaged when you're driving. I'm not sure but I don't think my springs would engage when I pick up my car. I would advise winding the collars all the way up and marking a point on the collar with a pen, and always adjust both collars the same amount either side, unless your weight distribution is wildly out.

When setting droop, be wary, there are different ways to measure it, and different gauges will have different readings. Use the Associated gauge that comes with the kit, I find it to be easiest. Take you wheels off and detach your shocks. Sit the bottom of the chassis on the flat part of the gauge, so that the gauge runs from one suspension arm to the other. It help to rest the other end on something so that the chassis is flat, I use a book and choose the right amount of pages to match the gauge, simple but effective.
Then turn the droop screw till the bottom of the C-Hub rests at the height you want (5 droop would be the 5 level on the AE droop gauge). Repeat on the other side, then on the rear.
Generally you want to run higher droop numbers in the front, or the same. I run 6 front 5 back generally, but adjust after a run if needs be.

People often state their droop in millimeters above ride height, dont confuse this for the method I said, or your droop will be miles out.

Hope that is helpful.

Regards

Neal
Redwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Team Losi XXXS G+ with parts!! Team Orion V2 Hitec 5625 cola R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 06-18-2008 07:11 PM
BATTERIES - Team Orion 4200 SHO Team Cells (6 cell) packs................... For Sale 2-Bad Australia For Sale/Trade 0 03-21-2008 01:16 AM
New Items for Sale Tamiya F103gt Chassis Kit, Team Much More CTX-D, Novak, Team Orion Tsquare R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 04-17-2007 07:29 PM
>>> BRAND STINKING NEW NEVER RAN TEAM JAMMIN FACTORY TEAM FTE RACING BUGGY <<<< mach51 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 01-25-2007 08:13 PM
F/S Team Associated Factory Team RC18T with Mamba Comp X Brushless and Extras ZeroCool101 R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 01-07-2006 12:54 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:04 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net