Wiki Posts
Search
Like Tree3Likes

Silver Can Motor Tips/Tricks

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2012, 12:27 PM
Tech Rookie

Originally Posted by jha07
I'm no expert, but I have been reading a lot about this, and the Johnson motor is suppose to be faster. The Mabuchi I got from my kit runs slower forward than reverse.
Supposed to be yes... but that wasnt the case like you can see
Old 02-02-2013, 07:05 PM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 108 (100%+)

Here's a question, anyone have any success braking brushes in faster with the CS brushes in something other than water. In my experience water dipping produces an ugly comm.
Old 02-03-2013, 07:13 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Yes, but it took a long time (and a significant investment) to develop the correct fluid. As you have discovered, water has trace elements that scar the comm face.

The key for a TCS motor is not to break in the brushes too much while still breaking in the bushings so it spools up quickly.

Too small brushes = less torque and RPM climbs past the legal limit too quickly.
Old 02-03-2013, 07:20 AM
Tech Elite

Originally Posted by Core Creations
Here's a question, anyone have any success braking brushes in faster with the CS brushes in something other than water. In my experience water dipping produces an ugly comm.
There may be, but for most of us who only do a few motors a year, plain water will give you acceptable results. If you're getting "ratty" looking comms, my guess is that you used too high a voltage or you let the water get too dirty before changing it.

I usually run the motors at 2v and use a container of water that holds at least 1/2 gallon of water. The practice of using a container like a cup from a fast food place is okay, but you have to change the water too often. Even with the large container I use, the water needs to be changed at least once and the motor should be finished in clean water at 2v.