Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Esc: will running more cells hurt?

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2003, 09:18 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Esc: will running more cells hurt?

i'm thinking of using 8 cells on my old F1 Bullet reverse which has a 7 cell limit with 15 turn dual motor limit.

i use dual stock mabuchis(27 turns). would this be ok?
i'm not an engineer or technician, so i don't understand the significance of voltage with respect to the function of the FETs, though the motor amperage with dual 27 turns is way below the bullet's maxmum specs.

so, my question: is 1 cell above the recommended voltage limit safe while keeping within the amp limit?
Old 02-09-2003, 04:33 PM
Tech Elite

some escs cannot support more than the input voltage recommended,u have 2 check ur esc's spec 1st b4 trying so that u wun damage it...no point blowing ur a prefect working esc rite?
Old 02-09-2003, 05:17 PM
Tech Addict

hm.. ok, i'll try looking for the FET ratings. can't seem to find though
Old 02-09-2003, 06:00 PM
Tech Adept

hi huasze,

most esc built nowdays r more for leisure or racing.the leisure one r usually up to 15T~18T.Racing ones r usually up to 7-cells, reason is most racing bodies only allow 6 cells racing.very rare they run 7 cells.Only few esc company like Tekin and Novak make more then 8 cells.Most of the Tekin like 4-11,4-12 or 4-20 modelscan take more then 10 cells.Like the 4-20G2, it can take up to 20 cells.i think it not feasible for an esc company to make 8 cells when racing bodies only allow up to 6 cells at most 7 cells.With battery technology, we now have 3300 compare 10 years ago 1200~2000mAH.A big leap in the R/C industry.Do we need 7 cells anymore?

i think it not safe to plug in to much voltage in the esc when it only specified 7 cells.

cheers...
Old 02-09-2003, 06:29 PM
Tech Addict

hey i guess you're right, no point stressing the esc.