Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Radio and Electronics
Is this website a SCAM? >

Is this website a SCAM?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Is this website a SCAM?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old 07-25-2013 | 12:11 PM
  #1  
KAWIDAD's Avatar
Thread Starter
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 626
From: Oviedo, Fl
Questions?? Is this website a SCAM?

Came across this website "vankeinc.com" after searching google to get the best deal on a Futaba 4PKSR, the deals seam to good to be true so that means they usually are. Has anyone bought anything from this site or similar site? Is it a scam like I think?****website has a $300 min purchase, only bank transfer or western union for form of payment
KAWIDAD is offline  
Old 07-25-2013 | 12:27 PM
  #2  
klaymon's Avatar
Tech Elite
iTrader: (71)
 
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,330
From: Columbus, OH
Default

I'm of the thought that if you have to ask if it's a scam, you answered your own question. Plus to use an example, they have an Ofna Nexx8 on there for $122. Less than half of AMain. Not likely legit. Plus, bank transfer/Western Union cannot be reversed in the event of an issue. Don't just shop on price.
klaymon is offline  
Old 07-25-2013 | 12:34 PM
  #3  
TeamSkunkwerks's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (142)
 
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 2,293
From: Tennessee
Arrow

Originally Posted by KAWIDAD
Came across this website "vankeinc.com" after searching google to get the best deal on a Futaba 4PKSR, the deals seam to good to be true so that means they usually are. Has anyone bought anything from this site or similar site? Is it a scam like I think?****website has a $300 min purchase, only bank transfer or western union for form of payment
Just wondering what the Futaba sells for & if you're really saving anything? If you get the item & it's DOA, are you stuck with it? With the company being in China it makes you wonder. Also, who pays the customs on the item once it reaches the US? That would be a big red flag!!
As far as a bank transfer, I don't know about that. I really wouldn't want someone to have access to my bank account & the Western Union bit just sounds plain fishy to me.
Tower Hobbies has the same item & looks like it's on sale with the discount code. Yeah, it might be more than what you saw on the other website, but what are you really getting?!?
TeamSkunkwerks is offline  
Old 07-25-2013 | 12:37 PM
  #4  
Devigili22's Avatar
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (29)
 
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 847
From: Austin, TX
Default

Originally Posted by KAWIDAD
only bank transfer or western union for form of payment
Kind of obvious isn't it?
Devigili22 is offline  
Old 07-25-2013 | 01:01 PM
  #5  
Captcha's Avatar
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,565
From: Ocala, fl
Default

You know what isn't a scam? Your LHS you give them money, they HAND you a product.

Pay a little more sometimes yes, but take into effect shipping time, and convenience if the product is in stock.

Just saying, BOL if you go this route.
Captcha is offline  
Old 07-25-2013 | 03:30 PM
  #6  
KAWIDAD's Avatar
Thread Starter
Tech Addict
iTrader: (24)
 
Joined: Jul 2013
Posts: 626
From: Oviedo, Fl
Default

Originally Posted by Captcha
You know what isn't a scam? Your LHS you give them money, they HAND you a product.

Pay a little more sometimes yes, but take into effect shipping time, and convenience if the product is in stock.

Just saying, BOL if you go this route.
You are 100% correct. Unfortunately my LHS is outa stock on pksr and pls. Was goin to get the pksr since the pls doesnt have a drop down(think grid is goin to make one now), so think im back on the pls train. Just wanted to confirm my suspicions about that site, if anyone had first hand experience. If that place was legit I wouldve had to put my loyalty to my LHS on hold.

Hey Captcha, what does BOL mean?
KAWIDAD is offline  
Old 07-25-2013 | 03:42 PM
  #7  
XRated SCT's Avatar
Tech Master
 
Joined: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,065
From: SanDiego
Default

Originally Posted by KAWIDAD
You are 100% correct. Unfortunately my LHS is outa stock on pksr and pls. Was goin to get the pksr since the pls doesnt have a drop down(think grid is goin to make one now), so think im back on the pls train. Just wanted to confirm my suspicions about that site, if anyone had first hand experience. If that place was legit I wouldve had to put my loyalty to my LHS on hold.

Hey Captcha, what does BOL mean?
best of luck
XRated SCT is offline  
Old 07-25-2013 | 10:34 PM
  #8  
MarkA's Avatar
Tech Champion
iTrader: (21)
 
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,161
From: Corvallis, OR
Default

Is this place the official webstore of the RCRAA by any chance?
MarkA is offline  
Old 07-26-2013 | 04:09 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 7,342
Default

Originally Posted by MarkA
Is this place the official webstore of the RCRAA by any chance?
HEY now...

Dave H is offline  
Old 08-01-2013 | 06:10 PM
  #10  
Tech Rookie
 
Joined: Aug 2013
Posts: 1
Thumbs down 100% scam

100% scam
I have been chatting to these guys for over 1 week now, baiting them

I gave up in the end by telling em that I am posting my emails on every forum I can find

I made 3 orders of $12 K and emily was quite keen in having my order processed

My reply was, well my business partner wants a secure payment method

2 dead give aways the site is fake,

Order Confirmation from vankeinc

Steve Weiner

Thanks for shopping with us today!
The following are the details of your order.
------------------------------------------------------
Order Number: 3286 <--------------
Date Ordered: Friday 26 July, 2013
Detailed Invoice:


Looking forward to receiving my order when funds clear, please advise once
they do

Thank you

Products
------------------------------------------------------
1 x 6407 Traxxas XO-1 Brushless Supercar = $469.00
1 x DJI Naza F550 Hexacopter Inc Gps RTF = $810.00
1 x Dr Robot scout wifi mobile robot = $3,960.00
1 x Align T-REX 800E DFC Flybarless Super Combo Helicopter Kit w/Motor, ESC,
4 Servos & CF Blades AGNRH80E01X = $895.00
1 x Joysway Offshore Warrior RTR 2.4GHz with 26cc Petrol B-JS-9101N =
$556.00
1 x Dangerous Power M3-A1 Scenario Paintball Marker = $410.00
1 x Futaba 14MZ 2.4GHz R6014HS Heli Mode 2 = $1,320.00
2 x Futaba 4PK 2.4GHz FASST R604FS = $610.00
1 x Tamiya 1/16 Leopard 2 A6 Battle Tank Kit TAM56020 = $625.00
------------------------------------------------------
Sub-Total: $9,655.00
Per Item (Best Way): $200.00
Total: $9,855.00

Delivery Address

Also,

Whois Server Version 2.0


Domain Name: VANKEINC.COM
Registrar: CHENGDU WEST DIMENSION DIGITAL TECHNOLOGY CO., LTD.
Whois Server: whois.west263.com
Referral URL:
Name Server: NS5.MYHOSTADMIN.NET
Name Server: NS6.MYHOSTADMIN.NET
Status: ok
Updated Date: 11-jul-2013
Creation Date: 11-jul-2013
Expiration Date: 11-jul-2014

So given the business name has been regged less than a month, and my order number is 3286, I made another order which was 3290, making me suspect that some other poor soul has either been sucked in, or is baiting them too


Domains registered under the email
Total 13 domains found

(would not let me post URL...)

Same registrant owns 13 other domain names

Further more, shipping is $20 flat rate for every item
The 1/5 Baja flux wigh in at 18 KGs gross, box is 1 metre long, I'd like to see anyone try and ship from China that kind of item for $20 lol

Anyways guys, spread the word, these guys need to be stopped...

Attached Thumbnails Is this website a SCAM?-1.png   Is this website a SCAM?-2.png  
OptimusRC is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2026 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.