Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Maintenance - What and When?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2016, 12:15 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Questions?? Maintenance - What and When?

Hello all,

My question is what type or maintenance do you do and when?

Follow up question, how do you keep track of your schedule? Pen and paper or something more complex?

I am just getting into RC and have picked up a 1/8 TLR 8ight E 3.0 4WD Buggy and a 1/10 B5M 2WD Buggy for racing on an outdoor clay track so any tips and/or suggestions will be appreciated.

Last edited by CrawJac; 08-02-2016 at 12:37 PM.
Old 08-02-2016, 02:20 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)

Depends how much you run them. If you race once a week with a little bit of practice the morning of the race, then just go over them the day before. If you're turning laps every day, then you may want to keep a log of how much time you're putting on each car and what/when you last wrenched on it. I would figure your average lap time, then convert the time to laps, and keep track of laps. That's how I do it anyway. I run 40-50 laps a day though all timed and logged into a spreadsheet. This helps me figure out what intervals things need to be looked at. When you start doing that many laps, you also get to be able to feel and hear things like a shock or diff that needs attention.

I suggest a gear diff for the ae 1/10 buggy. I run em in all my cars, love them to death! I go 100-150 laps in between re-fills. Things are amazing. I ran ball diffs for over a decade, I know how to set em up and make em last. But for me, a gear diff just means less maintenance and are basically worry free.

If you're just getting into RC, spend your time driving. Up on a drivers stand, driving slow and with enough control that you don't flip over. If you do flip over, go get your own car. Nothing makes you stop crashing like chasing your own car all the time.