Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Best Beginner R/C Brands

Search this Thread

Old 05-02-2016, 05:32 AM
Tech Regular

Default Best Beginner R/C Brands

Let's just start off, I am no beginner, so this thread will be someplace for those who are beginners to be redirected to.....

So what are the best beginner R/C brands?

Here are a few popular ones for newbies:

ECX (Formerly Electrix RC)
http://www.ecxrc.com
They have been around for quite some time now, specializing in beginner cars, primarily electric. My LHS is now carrying tons of parts for them, and the owner says that they are a pretty good competitior with Traxxas. From a price perspective their models are outstanding, and they have a pretty high top-end speed wise.

Traxxas:
https://m.traxxas.com
The Traxxas "beginner" series (rustler, bandit, stampede, slash) are great all around trucks, for newbies and more experienced hobbyists alike. However, they are somewhat outdated, as most of them have only had electronics and paint jobs updated since the 90's. They are a little heavy when it comes to racing, and the CG of the stampede and slash is jacked up really high in the air, which sacrifices handling.

Arrma:
http://www.arrma-rc.com
A newer brand, originally selling beginner-level cars, but nowadays they are well known for pioneering the 6s RTR 8th scale, in the form of the Kraton, Talion, and Typhon. This brand is known for durability, but if you do break something, the parts you need to fix it most likely won't be hanging on the pegs at your local hobby shop. Most of their beginner series use a TVP design, which is a little awkward but it does increase durability as we know about the savage trucks.

HPI Racing
http://hpiracing.world