Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Rookie Zone
Newbie needs an RC car! Options listed.. >

Newbie needs an RC car! Options listed..

Newbie needs an RC car! Options listed..

Old 01-14-2015, 05:18 PM
Tech Rookie

Talking Newbie needs an RC car! Options listed..

Hey guys,

I'm Sid and am based in bournemouth, UK. I am a beginner and dont have much idea about rc cars and rc drifting which is where I want your help. I need help choosing my first rc car. My brother is into RC planes so I know of a few things that are particular to the RC sport and that carry forward here in to RC cars so I kind of know what type of car I'm looking for but am not sure which one would suit me best.

My needs from the package are.
1. I want to preferably buy a RTR package which would include the pre-assembled car with the radio and electronics as I have no building experience what so ever.
2. The package should be aftermarket friendly in the sense that there should be ample upgrades available so that I can upgrade the chassis technically as I begin to understand more about the sport. Aftermarket support for bodies is not important though preferable as I dont mind a nice looking ride.
3. Should have a good enough motor to start with so the cars not sluggish to begin with.
4. Should also have the potential to be used as a normal on road car so that drifting is not all that it does. I plan to maybe in the future mod the ride for drag racing but does'nt hold much value right now.
5. Should be under 300 which at this point equals to about $450.

Below are some of my choices although I am fully open to new suggestions,

1. HPI Sprint 2 Drift
2. HPI Sprint 2 Flux
3. Team Associated Apex Scion FR-S Racer
4. Maverick Strada DC Evo S Brushless RTR

Now I need your help deciding! But of all of these the two that top the list are the HPI S2F and the TA FS-R.