Search

soldering

Search this Thread

Old 05-24-2005, 06:11 PM
4ou
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default soldering

I have a quick question, Ive been watching alot of racers and they all seem to solder everything, why couldnt they solder connecters on everything then when they need to repair just unplug? I guess this is a dumb question but im new to all this. Im wanting to start racing mine, I just dont really know all the ins and outs. thanks
Old 05-24-2005, 07:06 PM
Tech Fanatic

Soldering connections saves weight, plus there is less of a chance of something come disconnected.
Old 05-24-2005, 08:23 PM
Super Moderator

Right, there are a number of connectors nowadays that offer just as low electrical resistance as the wire they go on, but nothing is more secure or lighter(for the car's overall weight) than direct soldering....
Old 05-24-2005, 08:28 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

soldering is a more secure way of joining your motor ESC etc it also has less resistance tha plugs.plugs become loose after time have a feel of a tamyia style plug after changing battery packs,it is both loose and hot(hot joints mean lose of power and in some cases fire)
the only plugs i have on my electric(OB4) is the battery connections and their the bullet style,same racers even solder their batteries in
hope this helps
Old 05-25-2005, 03:26 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 141 (100%+)

I suggest if you are just starting into rcing to use deans plugs. The soldering is great but if you do not have power to solder you are sol.

Also the deans plugs are easy to use and well worth the lack of the hassle of soldering.

I direct solder for indoor carpet since I know I have power and such but for outdoor offroad I use deans plus.

Also helps so you do not solder things in backwards and fry a speedo or something else. Has a friend do it to a gt7 - snap, crackle, pop, no more racing.

Just a thought. I would hold off on the direct solder.

mc

Old 05-25-2005, 04:34 PM
4ou